We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi train”

KUMO Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #219 of 1,203 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

We went with our two young children for lunch, and booked a booth by the sushi train. Highly recommend! The staff were very accommodating, sushi was delicious, with a good range on the train.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Greika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile


Kumo is a family favourite with their sushi train.

Usually a good selection of dishes even when you are in the door as soon as it opens.

Booths fit a family of 6 well (even with one in a full leg cast) otherwise there is the individual seating along the train.

Reasonable car parking available also.

Really enjoy the food. Even the vegetarian girlfriend was able to find plenty of dishes. It’s a favourite of our 5 year old. We keep coming back.

Can also order off the menu.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Went to kumo after reading reviews, hate to say little but disappointed, we asked our waitress for kupie (Japanese mayo) they brought out mayo, thought it looked strange(we eat japanese every week at our local in Nelson,)when we asked waitress she said oh most people can’t tell so we give cheaper one only!,
Paid bill and left to a different restaurant and finished our night out

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank BrettG889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Went for Friday lunch. Great range available on sushi train. All seemed very fresh and were delicious. Perhaps a little more expensive than others.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank tqguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Good sushi at a good price. Range is very good with good turnover due to the large number of businesses around

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KUMO Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to KUMO Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing