We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“not worth the money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BeachLife Apartments

BeachLife Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BeachLife Apartments
te anau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

although mostly clean this room wasn't worth the price paid, and that included the sore back from the very hard beds and inch thick pillows. at $200plus a night i would have expected a bit more quality than this.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwicacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    13
    9
    17
See reviews for
21
11
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

im amazed at the negative reviews! i stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay..management couldnt have been friendlier or more helpful and i appreciated the locked gates at the entrance! the room was lovely with a big balcony and no, i couldnt see the ocean but there are rooms on other levels that have sea views so ask before you book if that is what you require...on the whole,a really enjoyable stay! thanks :))

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avenger83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Basic apartment with standard facilities. Microwave and stove top in a large open plan kitchen/diner/lounge area with TV. Small functional bathroom and small bedroom but adequate. We had booked a one bedroom apt and it was a two bed so they had just locked the door to the second room. It was winter so we were glad of the air con and electric blankets. There is no service after you are given access to the room - i.e making up of room, change of towels etc but it is a cheap apartment.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julesr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

We were looking forward to a great relaxing holiday with our friends & children. We didnt even bother checking in.
After driving along the main road we were incredibly worried about the suburb in general. We were stared down by 1 guy standing on the road as we drove past. About 75m away from the apartments is an old hotel completely boarded up with ply & next to that is an old shop boarded up in the exact same way. The apartments are surrounded by old delapidated houses with the odd exception.
When we drove down the long driveway we were met by a huge steel gate & needed a code to get in, which we hadnt been given. As we peered through the gate we noticed it looked like people lived there permanently, which was a surprise. The steel railings looked as though they were all rusting, even though the building is new.
Upon ringing the booking company, we were informed that the cancellation policy was that we lost the 1st nights tariff. I wouldnt mind that, except we didnt choose not to stay simply out of changing our minds, we chose not to stay as we believed the entire area would be unsafe. We have young children & their safety to think about.
We then had to spend 3hrs driving around trying to find an alternative. Not happy at all!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Smitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

Dreadfull location at the rear of other properties. The "beach view" apartment, (at the seedy end of town) had to be negotiated up three flights of stairs and if you squinted you could just see water in the distance. The apartments were untidy and full of large flies and assorted bugs, guests were also asked to sign a form requiring them to clean the apartments prior to their departure or extra charges would be incurred. The owner/manager was rude, unhelpful and totally disinterested in accomodating the needs of his guests. I would absolutely NOT recommend this property. It is definitely NOT the four star accomodation it claims to be.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Belle8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
8.1 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
8.2 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.4 km away
The Pier Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Pier Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in New Brighton North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch
7.6 km away
Bella Vista Motel & Apartments
Bella Vista Motel & Apartments
#65 of 145 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.8 km away
At The Beach B & B Motel
At The Beach B & B Motel
#23 of 135 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BeachLife Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BeachLife Apartments

Property: BeachLife Apartments
Address: 72 Marine Parade | opp. North Beach Surfing Club, Christchurch 8083, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,594 - ₹ 8,198
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BeachLife Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch's newest beachside executive 1-2 bedroom apartments, clean, comfortable and safe. Top quality kitchen, flooring (no carpet) and furnishing. Close to city and many attractions. 100 m to Pacific Ocean and 18 km sandy beach, 300 m to a golf course, 1.5 km to 3 more golf courses. Free local calls and own unique direct dial number. Broadband, Satellite TV available. Ideal long or short term accommodation for holiday makers and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BeachLife Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachlife Apartments Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing