We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most pleasant and comfortable stay...the second time was like going home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airport Delta Motel
Ranked #31 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“A most pleasant and comfortable stay...the second time was like going home!”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at the Airport Delta Motel twice (once upon arrival and once the night before we depart) for our recent trip to South Island.

On our first stay, we called the hotel upon arrival at the airport. It took 2 to 3 calls before someone picked up the phone, but once we got them, we were promptly picked up and driven to the motel. We had initially booked the Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel, but due to change in travel dates, they were not available on our revised dates and we picked the Airport Delta instead since they seemed to be of similar quality as the Airport Christchurch and were on the same road (based on website).

The vehicle that picked us was in fact printed with both these motels name and they were in fact located side by side! Furthermore, the reception at the Airport Delta was close when we arrived and we were directed to use the Airport Christchurch's reception for check in. They seems to be runned by the same extended family. So in fact, I had a better deal since the rate at the Airport Delta was slightly lower than the Airport Christchurch, when I booked.

Although we arrived earlier than the check in time, we could go to our apartment immediately, which is much appreciated. The gentleman at the check in was friendly and gave us directions to the supermarket and also suggestions on nearby places for lunch. We had booked our car rental from Apex, which is conveniently located 5 to 10 mins walk from motel.

The motel was pleasantly furnished and our extra rollaway bed for the 5th person as well as extra towels were all made up and ready for us. The kitchen was well equiped and appliances and utensils clean. They had a dishwasher which is great. We were chosen the ground floor apartment which is perfect as we could park right outside our apartment 7, which is also right next to the laundry room (but not noisy at all!) Washing machine usage was free while it cost $2 to use the dryer. Bedrooms and bathrooms were of comfortable size. The bathroom even had a spa bath!

On our last night in SI, we were back at the Airport Delta and were most happy to get the exact same apartment again. This time my kids tried the spa bath and loved it!

The location of the motel was convenient to the 2 places that we had planned to visit in Chritchurch, International Antarctic Centre on our arrival day and Willowbanks on our return. So it worked out wonderful. Its proximity to Apex car rental and provision of airport transfers worked out really well for us too. Much cheaper for us to rent from Apex rather than an airport onsite car rental company.

Upon our return home, my boys discovered that they left their Baldwin Street (Dunedin) certificates which they got for climbing the world's steepest street at the Airport Delta. I wrote to the motel to ask if they had seen it and they had and in fact had also kept them aside. They got our home address and promised to mail it to us in Singapore. The certs are not expensive, but are just momentos which my boys really wanted. We have yet to receive the certs but we understand that there could be delays since there was yet another earthquake in Christchurch after we communicated with the Airport Delta, and they must be very busy and had more urgent matters to attend to.

In conclusion, the Airport Delta is a very pleasant place to stay and we were most comfortable. Going back to it the second time was like going home!

Room Tip: Ground Floor apartments - don't have to carry luggage upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNLs_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E, Manager at Airport Delta Motel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
We are pleased to hear your family had such an enjoyable stay in NZ. I trust that the Baldwin Street certificates arrived safe and sound. After walking up there they were well deserved!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    65
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
100
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here for two weeks on our arrival in NZ, funded by my new employer. The location was convenient for the airport (and for work) and easy to find, and the staff friendly and helpful. There is a dairy (convenience store) within walking distance, if you know where to find it, and a couple of places to eat but reaching other shops would probably need a car. (I didn't investigate bus routes.)

The room was clean and comfortable, and not cold despite it being winter.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E, Manager at Airport Delta Motel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for the feedback. We hope to see you again. Should you need to catch a bus next time we have a bus stop right at the door with options to the City, Westfield and Northlands Malls and right out to Sumner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We were greeted by a lovely lady when we arrived at the motel and found the room to be spotless and had everything we required. The bed was king size and very comfortable which meant a great nights sleep!! Located within a handy distance to the airport. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bewitched11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E, Manager at Airport Delta Motel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you very much for the kind review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Location - 2 min drive from the airport, no surprise really as it's an airport motel :)
The rooms are quite modern, feel only recently furbished, they are very well equipped and clean. We stayed there on our last night in NZ and it was a very nice way to end the whole trip. It was certainly the nicest room we had in NZ.
The staff was super friendly and accommodating.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank agatabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E, Manager at Airport Delta Motel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
It's always nice to have guests return to us at the end of their travels around New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I stayed here whilst on a work trip and due to it being a motel and near an airport I wasn't expecting much however it far exceeded my fussy standards!
I checked in late at night and the key to my room was exactly where I was told it would be.
My room was lovely and clean and very comfortable.
I was very happy with the bathroom and this is usually an area in a hotel that I am most particular.
I had laundry done here and it was returned to my room by that evening which was an excellent help when I needed clean uniform for the next day.
I met the owners who were very welcoming and lovely people. Nothing was to much trouble even when I had to disturb them after hours when I had locked myself out of my room.
Even after I had checked out the excellent service continued. I had left a bracelet in the room, which I had not realised until they emailed to let me know that they had it posted back to me in Australia.
I was very happy with the time I spent at the Airport Delta Motel and would thoroughly recommend this accomodation to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OllyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E, Manager at Airport Delta Motel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Pleased to hear we can please a guest with 'fussy standards'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.6 km away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
0.1 km away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 145 in Christchurch
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
0.1 km away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 145 in Christchurch
737 reviews
1.4 km away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 103 in Christchurch
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Delta Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Delta Motel

Property: Airport Delta Motel
Address: 61 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#24 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,469 - ₹ 10,828
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airport Delta Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished, Airport Delta is now in the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame as well as being Qualmark 4.5 star certified and an evniro award winner. We are three minutes from Christchurh Airport by our courtesy shuttle (see our listing for details) or only 10 minutes from the city centre. We are proud to offer the highest standards in contemporary accommodation with a selection of Studio, 1,2, 3 and 4 bedroom units at an affordable price. Standard features include FREE wiifi, king-size or twin pillow-top beds, kitchens, iPod docks, flat-screen TVs with SKY TV, direct-dial telephones, irons/ironing boards, hairdryers, laundry with FREE washing machine, FREE newspapers, cots and highchairs, plunger coffee with fresh milk and FREE NZ made Wittakers Chocolates. All of our units offer superior warmth with double-glazing, electric heaters, under-floor heating and electric blankets. Our downstairs units offer a private courtyard and all units have their own outdoor settings in which to enjoy the morning sun. Our breakfast menu consists of either continental or free-range cooked and is delivered right to your room. Don't forget to order your locally roasted espresso coffee! If you prefer to eat out we are within walking distance from the Preservatory Cafe on Sir William Pickering Drive, Untouched World, Sevanti Restaurant or the fabulous Terra Viva Cafe and Garden Centre. If you prefer a quick take-away there are many options including of course McDonalds and Hells Pizza. PARK & FLY with us to take advantage of our FREE car storage. With a bus stop at the door we are ideally placed for transport to Riccarton Westfield, Sumner beach or Northlands Mall. Whether you want to visit local attractions such as The Antarctic Centre, Nunweek Park, Bishopdale YMCA, Burnside Park, Hinton's Vineyard, Jellie Park or head into the city to see Christchurch's new Re:START container mall, New Regent Street, Cathederal Square or Cardboard Cathederal your hosts, Michael and Lisa have a wealth of knowledge on local attractions and will enjoy helping you to arrange your Christchurch visit and onward journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Airport Delta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Delta Hotel Christchurch
Delta Christchurch
Christchurch Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing