We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Coffee - Great Food - Great Service”

Under The Red Verandah
Ranked #72 of 968 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 22
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great Coffee - Great Food - Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and I called into UTRV this morning for a relaxing coffee and a read of the local paper. I really enjoy the vibe of this place. Always the same. Great Coffee, Great Food and Great service. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ricki3633003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    69
    13
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage atmosphere - rustic in the centre of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Food fresh and inviting
Service prompt and effecient

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fozzy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We used to be regulars at Under the Red Verandah but have been out of Christchurch for a couple of months. We went there this morning and the whole experience was a huge disappointment. We waited for ages to be seated although countless staff walked straight past us, we were shunted outside as they said all the tables in side were booked. It was quite cold sitting out there. When the waiter arrived we asked again if there was any tables available inside but were advised no and offered blankets. In fact there were many tables unoccupied inside some of which were empty when we arrived and still empty when we left. The coffee was weak and slow to arrive. The poached eggs were rock hard and cold and covered in pepper (pepper is a condiment to be added by diner), the bacon was fatty, limp, cold and quite inedible and the toast was so hard it was difficult to cut with the not so clean cutlery. The waiter that served us was pleasant and that was about the only redeeming feature of what used to be a legendery brunch establishment in Christchurch.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaeNZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great phoenix from the rubble experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

What a great redevelopment of one of CHCH's best lunch spots. Following the loss of the original building the owners have turned the site into a wonderful lunch /breakfast experience with different, temporary buildings with quirky but quality decor. Looks fab and food just as special as has always been

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank totarapom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cafe with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I was recommended this place by my backpackers hostel. As it is just around the corner I visited several times because the coffees and the food is fabulous and the setting is great in the old villas and the garden. Thanks.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Under The Red Verandah also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Under The Red Verandah? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing