We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
77
28
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
28
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home away from home northlands mall clean and spacious rooms sitting area great hosts a great place to stay minute drive a lovely stay heat pump would definitely stay here again main road visiting christchurch south island unit motel maree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

What a fabulous choice for us. From the moment we arrived the staff were simply brilliant. The owner even gave me some home made relish to use when I forgot to buy some. How is that for service. Room to spread out was great, and a comfy bed to sleep in after a busy day. Wifi was dreadfully slow if needing to download anything, but if just emailing or on social media it'd be fine. Good location, close to shops, and while on main road the noise did not bother us at all.

Room tip: If any mobility issues go for a downstairs unit as steps could be a bit of a challenge.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudiRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I picked this place to stay because of the location and the affordable price. I found it very comfortable and lovely and clean. The owners are very welcoming and friendly and I would definitely recommend this place to others

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Explorer753336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MareeBel, Owner at Garden City Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Very nice clean and tidy Motel complex, nice and quite, The owners were first class with their service and very helpful. The upstairs unit we had was quite hot but the air conditioning unit ( Heat pump) soon sorted that out. Very comfortable bed. We will stay here again on our next trip to Christchurch

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeterK8338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MareeBel, Owner at Garden City Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for your review Peter. We look forward to you visiting Christchurch and staying again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We stayed here in January for 4 nights and couldn't fault the room or the owners who were very helpful. The rooms were spacious and very clean and most of all quiet. We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MareeBel, Owner at Garden City Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for your review Lorraine. See you another time when you are next in Christchurch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

This is a slightly older but very quiet and solid set of units. We were impressed with the hosts great response to any request. It is so nice to have people who want to be doing the job they are doing and it shows in their treatment of their guests.
Unit was immaculately clean and comfortable and had all that we would have required to prepare food in had we desired to do so. Nice outside sitting area also available.
We will return on future visits to our home town and we will recommend.

Room tip: We enjoyed unit 4 which has two bedrooms, quiet with nice outlook.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hj0yce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews