We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
77
27
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
27
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home away from home northlands mall clean and spacious rooms awesome stay lovely hosts a great place to stay water pressure minute drive heat pump would definitely stay here again room was large main road road noise visiting christchurch south island good size two nights
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Beautiful big roomy unit. Great for what we needed. Very quiet as our room was back from the road. New owners very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back again next year. Very central to restaurants.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank huntingmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

My sister who lives in Christchurch sourced this motel for us - what an excellent find! The unit we had was so spacious and extremely well equipped, how lovely to stay in a motel that has heatpumps in the rooms instead of a little heater. The room was super clean and we had the pleasure of meeting the housekeeping lady who was just delightful. Our little dog was also allowed to stay which was a bonus.The only small downside was the bathroom could benefit from better ventilation as it got very damp, but great value for money and we will definitely be back. A home away from home. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 78Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gcmotel, Owner at Garden City Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you for your recent review on our Motel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you visiting again in the future.
Having recently taken over the ownership we value any feedback which will help us improve things going forward. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

We arrived for a weekend not conditioned for the cold Christchurch winter and with a 2 year old. We were very impressed with our host kindness. Our room was very clean, comfortable bed and very warm despite it being cold outside.

Maree is an exceptional host, thanks so much, you went out of your way to ensure our stay was a good one. Can’t speak highly enough on the service we received!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank diagocamelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gcmotel, Owner at Garden City Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Garden City Motel. We loved having you stay and being able to make your stay a stress free enjoyable one. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Very welcoming couple who allowed me and my 4 legged companion stay after being turned down by several other pet friendly places due to his breed ...The room it self was very specious and very homely with a decent Lounge to relax in and then a good size double room to catch some zzzz,s ...Cosy warm and spacious with all you need close by ..thanks for the stay will be staying again and the price is remarkably good

Stayed: May 2017
Thank nzmostcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gcmotel, Owner at Garden City Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you.It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us. We wish you all the best with your move and look forward to having you come stay again if you are ever back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We were a bit high maintenance from the beginning - last minute, showing up in the middle of the night, calling with questions - and we were treated with nothing but kindness and patience. Would recommend this motel to anyone who wants to support small businesses owned and operated by hardworking, kind Kiwis! Thank you.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DanaHanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gcmotel, Manager at Garden City Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you Dana, we look forward to you staying with us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews