We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach you can walk for miles”
Review of Godley Head

Godley Head
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Park up walk along the sand next to the sea for miles right around the bay. Loads of birds to watch as well as the odd surfer.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gun emplacements"
in 8 reviews
"lyttelton harbour"
in 4 reviews
"look outs"
in 2 reviews
"coastal views"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful walk"
in 2 reviews
"christchurch city"
in 3 reviews
"sunny day"
in 3 reviews
"amazing scenery"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 2 reviews
"sumner"
in 11 reviews
"cliffs"
in 4 reviews
"track"
in 10 reviews
"pacific"
in 4 reviews
"picnic"
in 6 reviews
"military"
in 2 reviews
"vista"
in 2 reviews
"loop"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2018

This is stunning spot to get overview of Christchurch city and the Canterbury plains. Also great to roam and go for extended walk.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank gaslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

An epic car trip through untouched beautul landscape guiding you through many stop offs for photo opportunities. Take lots of water and snacks.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Marie n Jules m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

I love this place, whether it be for a picnic/bbq or just to sit and admire the view. There is a walkway that takes you past old gun replacements from long ago.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Ainslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We had just arrived from USA, picked up our campervan and decided we wanted a few days to recover and acquaint ourselves with our home for the stay. This is a short drive from the airport, but make sure you provision first and drive slow on the windy road. I get the feeling this is a local gem, maybe because it's a windy road or maybe because of it's proximity to the city but if was full of GLORIOUS views. We did the track that is connected to the campground and it was one of our favorites with sea views the entire time. Breathtaking and not too steep. We extended the trip into Sumner and what a treat. Find the Bohemian Bakery , it doesn't disappoint in all it's sourdough and crusty bread offerings. Seeing the flowers, surfers, vistas... all made it a memorable campsite. No showers - just toilets. Suck it up and you won't regret it.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank phitmom802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Godley Head also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Godley Head? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing