We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 225
US$ 191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 150
US$ 107
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$ 107
US$ 89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$ 84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$ 110
US$ 107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
US$ 97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amross Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$ 99
US$ 91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
16
67
79
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
67
79
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa ground floor roomwell located hotelwestfield shopping centrebotanical gardensbus stopfree wifinight's sleepenjoyed my stayshort stayhire carcentral christchurchairportconvenience
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

On arrival there was a bugger up with our rooms (asked for a twin and got a tiny studio with one double bed) but fortunately with a fair bit of coaxing the receptionist agreed to move us to another room down stairs. We were originally up the three sets of stairs - for a chronic asthmatic a lift would be an ideal other option! Our new room was alright, two beds and looked clean and tidy..... until I woke in the morning and found ANTS crawling along the skirting boards and all over the "bench". Like stated in other posts there is next to no privacy and the walls very thin, we could hear the neighbours on either side of us and those that had to walk up the stairs. I like to give people the benefit of the doubt but unfortunately I won't ever be staying here again!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Yolo8609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Yolo8609,

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. Please be aware we did make our pest control supplier aware of your comments after check out and have carried out extensive investigation and control requirements to prevent any future occurrences, we thank you for you letting us know. We do not have any elevators available on site but do have rooms available on each level. We wish you all the best on your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Just a renovated old motel, with more work needing done yet. Rooms were very small and basic. Our travel agent had booked it, so we had no input. Would not chose to go there again after comparing with other accommodation we had in New Zealand. One bonus, was the great proximity to the railway station and to a long street of many restaurants to chose from.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

The rooms themselves were pretty small and the upkeep wasn't that good. Some of the fittings in the bathroom were loose and the sills hadn't been wiped down in a while. Wifi range was good and we did stay here for three nights but that was because of the price. It was a good rate for us and if all you are looking for is a place to lay your head at night then this is good. Located near to one of the large malls and lots of eating options nearby also. We would stay here again if we were looking for a cheap nights accommodation.

Room Tip: No elevators so if you are elderly or have a heap of luggage get a room on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NesianStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

This was a very short stay between resorts. It's an ok hotel but not a hotel I would choose to stay at. This was booked through Trial Finders & I am surprised they use it as it's not a reflection of NZ resorts... It's dated, in much need of upgrade but it's functional to get your head down for a night
Water tepid so showering not pleasant & bath not really an option.
No lifts but fortunately we are fit enough to use strairs but elderly & infirm may not be. Rooms are fairly well equipped although decor similar to a hostel.
Staff incredibly helpful & friendly.
Not sure if Christchurch struggle with accommodation following the Earthquakes but this hotel didn't seem full.
If this is just for a short stay in the passing then it's fine. You can walk into town in 25 minutes (Again not ideal for elderly or infirm). However if you are wanting a nice base for a few days then possibly consider other options.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RicksterinTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Located on a 30 minutes walk to the city centre. There are lots off restaurants and a shopping mall nearby. The rooms are nice and modern. Only the cleaning could have been better. The staff is very friendly and kindly provided us with an umbrella.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank I P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews