We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
16
67
79
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
67
79
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa ground floor roomwell located hotelwestfield shopping centrebotanical gardensbus stopfree wifienjoyed my stayshort staycentral christchurchairportconvenience
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

This was our first stop after a 28 hr journey from U.K, arrived before check in time & given a map of local area so went for a walk to Botanical gardens & Canterbury museum. Adequate for a night to sleep off the journey, nice continental breakfast next morning. As mentioned on other reviews rooms have full windows so not much privacy unless curtains closed, we were on ground floor so no problems carrying cases upstairs

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank samoWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

This was our final stay in New Zealand, stayed in several hotels along the way, but this one was such a disappointment. We had a travel company organise the hotels for us and a similar standard was requested throughout. But the Ashley was akin to a 1* motel, outside staircases to a second floor, ceiling to floor windows onto main outside passage ... the room cleaner left the curtains totally open when she cleaned and our room was totally on view when we returned! The room itself was small, white formica furniture, dirty carpet, and the bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom was so old and desperately needed replacing. At the rear of the hotel rooms there seemed to be an industrial area and lorries started to come and go at 6 in the morning.
Not a brilliant way to finish our amazing time in NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jdmd2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Jdmd2015,

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We will be speaking with our housekeeping team to go over your comments regarding the carpet as room cleanliness is a top priority. We normally receive positive feedback regarding bed comfort so we will be investigating further to make sure all of our beds are up to standard. We wish you all the best on your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

The hotel is ok just a bit dated, good bed, room was good size with nice furnitures and large and mostly clean (the bathroom could do with better cleaning though but overall nothing major).
The main thing I personally don't like is that the rooms have big bay windows the whole length of the rooms and therefore if one wants to have the window opened or get more light by , then everyone walking passed to other rooms can see you (but more personal dislike, some people won't mind).

Room Tip: Room upstairs will be more private
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

4 guests. 3 chairs. 2 towels. 1 bung shower. 0 dishwashing utensils. Stuffy rooms with poor ventilation. The beds are comfortable but not much else. At least the staff were friendly and polite despite my irate provocations. (Maybe they heard all of my complaints before?) We chose the Ashley when it seemed to have the only available room in Christchurch. Now I understand why.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank YoungerInMyDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear YoungerInMyDreams,

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We will be speaking with housekeeping as to why the correct amount of towels was not provided. Also we will be speaking with our maintenance team as to your comments regarding the shower to ensure this is working correctly. Thank you for your positive comments relating to our staff and will be sure to pass these on. We wish you all the best on your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

It was clean and warm easy to find the stair killed us lol great exercise for us had a great sleep the beds reminded of a granny bed lol great way to see the site very handy and walking distance a big bouns in it self so cheers for that

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews