We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Harley Park and the Airport”
Review of The Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ashley Hotel
Ranked #120 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Enjoyed a brief stay here on our return to Christchurch from campervanning. We were very lucky and there was a free concert in Hadley park, just down the road. The hotel is fairly basic, in that it doesn't have much atmosphere and when we realised that there was no lift to the 1st and 2nd floor, we asked for a ground floor room. We had 3 bags and other carry on stuff. They happily did this, but it is worth asking for this if you have lots of luggage. Other than that it was clean, the rooms a good size and the continental breakfast perfectly adequate to see us off for the day.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms if you have lots of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suesalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

This was our first stop after a 28 hr journey from U.K, arrived before check in time & given a map of local area so went for a walk to Botanical gardens & Canterbury museum. Adequate for a night to sleep off the journey, nice continental breakfast next morning. As mentioned on other reviews rooms have full windows so not much privacy unless curtains closed, we were on ground floor so no problems carrying cases upstairs

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank samoWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

This was our final stay in New Zealand, stayed in several hotels along the way, but this one was such a disappointment. We had a travel company organise the hotels for us and a similar standard was requested throughout. But the Ashley was akin to a 1* motel, outside staircases to a second floor, ceiling to floor windows onto main outside passage ... the room cleaner left the curtains totally open when she cleaned and our room was totally on view when we returned! The room itself was small, white formica furniture, dirty carpet, and the bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom was so old and desperately needed replacing. At the rear of the hotel rooms there seemed to be an industrial area and lorries started to come and go at 6 in the morning.
Not a brilliant way to finish our amazing time in NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jdmd2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Jdmd2015,

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We will be speaking with our housekeeping team to go over your comments regarding the carpet as room cleanliness is a top priority. We normally receive positive feedback regarding bed comfort so we will be investigating further to make sure all of our beds are up to standard. We wish you all the best on your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

The hotel is ok just a bit dated, good bed, room was good size with nice furnitures and large and mostly clean (the bathroom could do with better cleaning though but overall nothing major).
The main thing I personally don't like is that the rooms have big bay windows the whole length of the rooms and therefore if one wants to have the window opened or get more light by , then everyone walking passed to other rooms can see you (but more personal dislike, some people won't mind).

Room Tip: Room upstairs will be more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

4 guests. 3 chairs. 2 towels. 1 bung shower. 0 dishwashing utensils. Stuffy rooms with poor ventilation. The beds are comfortable but not much else. At least the staff were friendly and polite despite my irate provocations. (Maybe they heard all of my complaints before?) We chose the Ashley when it seemed to have the only available room in Christchurch. Now I understand why.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank YoungerInMyDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear YoungerInMyDreams,

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We will be speaking with housekeeping as to why the correct amount of towels was not provided. Also we will be speaking with our maintenance team as to your comments regarding the shower to ensure this is working correctly. Thank you for your positive comments relating to our staff and will be sure to pass these on. We wish you all the best on your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Carlton Mill
Hotel Carlton Mill
#66 of 146 in Christchurch
93 reviews
0.4 km away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
276 reviews
3.5 km away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#39 of 146 in Christchurch
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#61 of 146 in Christchurch
149 reviews
0.5 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
3 km away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#30 of 146 in Christchurch
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Address: 106 Mandeville St, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: ₹ 5,669 - ₹ 8,535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley Hotel Christchurch is a newly refurbished, 45-room hotel that delivers a charming, relaxed and convenient experience. The Ashley Hotel is located in Riccarton, within walking distance of Hagley Park, shopping malls, dozens of restaurants and cafés, Christchurch Hospital, the train station and plenty of other Christchurch attractions. We offer several different Christchurch hotel room types, perfect whether you are visiting for business, holiday or as part of a group. For your convenience, The Ashley Hotel also has disabled facilities. Whatever your reason for visiting Christchurch, enjoy it in comfort and style at The Ashley Hotel Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing