We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Really interesting

This museum is quite small but very well done. The information is complete and really interesting... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
shiraneh
via mobile
Informative and thought provoking

Have a good overview of Christchurch earthquakes in an interesting way. Friendly staff. Definitely... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
bethhodgson93
,
Cheshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,380 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Christchurch
from US$ 24.10
More Info
from US$ 205.80
More Info
from US$ 240.90
More Info
from US$ 68.80
More Info
Reviews (1,380)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
814
380
80
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
814
380
80
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews personal accounts first hand accounts great insight eye opening entry fee small museum their lives visiting christchurch shipping containers couple of hours city centre new zealand video quake stories survivors exhibition
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This museum is quite small but very well done. The information is complete and really interesting. It is shocking and touching to see the videos, pictures and witnesses.

Thank shiraneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Have a good overview of Christchurch earthquakes in an interesting way. Friendly staff. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank bethhodgson93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

Interactive and educational. For someone who comes from a place without earthquakes this museum really helped me understand the devastation Christchurch endured.

Thank jana_213213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

As a former resident of christchurch 15 years ago, returning for the first time post quake, this was always going to be a place i wanted to visit. I urge all visitors to make the effort. It is not big, can be done in an hour (though we spent much longer). And it really does give an insight into the horror of it all, but also very much on the human element of the aftermath, not just the fear, loss, panic and destruction, but also the coming together, the community spirit and the rebuilding. It also has a great scientific aspect about the geology of earthquakes and liquefaction. Christchurch is one of the nicest cities, and out of this tragic event it can actually get even better. Great museum. Great city.

Thank MarcusBridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A 5 rating - I really enjoyed sitting down to the lengthy personal accounts shown inside. This was the main attraction for me. There is some debris on show, and a few other quake points of interest.

A 3 rating if you are not into sitting down and watching the documentary. I'm not also sure if you are not good at English, how much you would get out of Quake City...

There is a cost $20 ea.
Thats ok, to me as it helps rebuild Christchurch, but,

Cheers

Thank marcdD6355FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I took my teenage daughter here and really enjoyed it. Very well laid out and really shows the destruction the quake caused. Actually situated in one of the worst hit areas. The video room is particularly moving.
You could rush through in 20 minutes or spend hours.

Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An in-depth view of what happened during and after the powerful earthquake of 2011, with personal accounts. Such tragedy and a great support to get Christchurch up and running again. Definitely worth a visit

Thank johncD4803TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CantMuseum, Manager at Quake City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the recommendation. Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What can I say about Quake City as it was mainly focused on each survivors experience. We were looking forward to going into a room the simulating an earthquake that they did not have. What I found interesting were the display of physical items the survived the earthquake. It was hanging on plywood rather then in a case and there was a lot of it. Once was enough for me- but then again I am not exactly a local !

Thank Howard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is not often you come across an exhibition where you want to read, watch, and listen to every word presented, but at Quake City you do! It is highly educational and informative in a very captivating way. Even though I did not experience the earthquakes, this exhibition brought me to tears with complete empathy and sadness.

1  Thank CathyGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent displays. Allow 1-2 hours. Very informative. Photographs and videos from the 2010 and 2011 earthquakes.

Thank taipagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews