We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Very Informative Exhibits

This was a good rainy day activity on my final day in CHC. The exhibition is nicely laid out with... read more

Reviewed yesterday
ptyduke
,
Florida
via mobile
A city rebuilding

Despite having viewed the news footage from the earthquakes that occurred in Christchurch in 2010... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
leewayconsulting
,
Adelaide, Australia
via mobile
Read all 1,384 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Christchurch
from US$ 213.20
More Info
from US$ 210.30
More Info
from US$ 19.70
More Info
from US$ 256.80
More Info
Reviews (1,384)
Filter reviews
1,302 results
Traveller rating
815
382
80
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
382
80
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews personal accounts first hand accounts great insight eye opening entry fee small museum their lives visiting christchurch shipping containers couple of hours city centre new zealand video quake stories survivors exhibition
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,302 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This was a good rainy day activity on my final day in CHC. The exhibition is nicely laid out with detailed information on various aspects of the Canterbury quakes. I especially liked hearing the first hand accounts in the video if both tragedy and triumph. It seems as CHC is well on its way back. I look forward to returning in a few years to see even more thoughtful development.

Thank ptyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Despite having viewed the news footage from the earthquakes that occurred in Christchurch in 2010 and 2011 nothing quite prepared you for the confronting scenes. Such a powerful story of resilience. The city of Christchurch is still a work in progress as places are rebuilt or demolished. A trip to this exhibit is a must.

Thank leewayconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

There are lots of information boards to read and lots about earthquakes so this is an informative place but the most moving part were all the personal accounts. They help you to understand the human side of earthquakes as well as the physical side of them. The video lasts 75 minutes but there is also a shorter one showing the moment the earthquake struck which portrays the suddenness and also confusion that arises at such a time.

Thank HMS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This museum is quite small but very well done. The information is complete and really interesting. It is shocking and touching to see the videos, pictures and witnesses.

Thank shiraneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have a good overview of Christchurch earthquakes in an interesting way. Friendly staff. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank bethhodgson93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Interactive and educational. For someone who comes from a place without earthquakes this museum really helped me understand the devastation Christchurch endured.

Thank jana_213213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a former resident of christchurch 15 years ago, returning for the first time post quake, this was always going to be a place i wanted to visit. I urge all visitors to make the effort. It is not big, can be done in an hour (though we spent much longer). And it really does give an insight into the horror of it all, but also very much on the human element of the aftermath, not just the fear, loss, panic and destruction, but also the coming together, the community spirit and the rebuilding. It also has a great scientific aspect about the geology of earthquakes and liquefaction. Christchurch is one of the nicest cities, and out of this tragic event it can actually get even better. Great museum. Great city.

Thank MarcusBridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A 5 rating - I really enjoyed sitting down to the lengthy personal accounts shown inside. This was the main attraction for me. There is some debris on show, and a few other quake points of interest.

A 3 rating if you are not into sitting down and watching the documentary. I'm not also sure if you are not good at English, how much you would get out of Quake City...

There is a cost $20 ea.
Thats ok, to me as it helps rebuild Christchurch, but,

Cheers

Thank Inthought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I took my teenage daughter here and really enjoyed it. Very well laid out and really shows the destruction the quake caused. Actually situated in one of the worst hit areas. The video room is particularly moving.
You could rush through in 20 minutes or spend hours.

Thank davebT4621JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An in-depth view of what happened during and after the powerful earthquake of 2011, with personal accounts. Such tragedy and a great support to get Christchurch up and running again. Definitely worth a visit

Thank johncD4803TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CantMuseum, Manager at Quake City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the recommendation. Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews