We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
73
175
105
34
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
175
105
34
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botanical gardens nearest supermarket hereford street communal kitchen own bathroom the ground floor bunk beds small fridge electric blankets free wifi clean rooms gym facilities city backpackers tram laundry
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff. And very helpful too!
Spend only one night there. But quite comfortable beds, bathroom was clean and quite a few per floor!
Room with a nice view and the heater worked perfectly! Plenty of space in our room too. Car park included was a bonus.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank abonodera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Receptionist quite nice but not massively helpful. Great free use of gym. Overpriced as with everywhere in NZ but good location! Should have free wifi!! Restaurant was overpriced, rooms were good as was kitchen area, overall decent stay. Not rushing back but wouldn't not recommend if asked

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Chloe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

For the price and what I needed it was ok.
However the bathrooms felt like they could have been given an extra wipe down.
Location is ok.
Internet abit of a con.
Went for a drink in their lounge with some people I met on the way there to get the Wi-Fi and to have a night cap as it had been a long day.
I was in a 10 person room, it was hard to distinguish which beds were free and which werent.
I stayed last year 2015 in February.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
Thank kirstymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I had a very good experience in this hotel. It is basically a mix of a hostel and a descent hotel. On the top floor they have hotel rooms and in the lower floors they have hostel type shared rooms.
Many facilities, from a coffee place, restaurant, gym, dance studio, free parking. It is located very close to town and just beside a really cool botanical garden.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Victor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We stayed on the 4th floor, which offers great views over the road to the Botanic Gardens. The room was perfectly adequate for our needs - heater, electric blankets, fresh towels, table and chair, bedside lights. One of the bathrooms by us had been refurbished (but lacked soap on the first day) whilst the other bathroom was older but still quite functional.
We arrived late at night and checked out early a few days later - reception staff at both times were helpful.
There is a Robert Harris coffee shop downstairs, as well as a bar/restaurant, and the YMCA gym itself.
The Y is located just a short walk from Cathedral Square.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PlesFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews