We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
433
228
84
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
228
84
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cathedral square mezzanine floor government buildings beautiful old building health club beautiful hotel full kitchen washer dryer bedroom and bathroom new zealand huge room loved this hotel the heart of the city central location regent street living area excellent location
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Great staff, very helpful. Huge rooms, spread out over 2 floors. Convenient amenities like laundry are in-room as well.

Now for the areas of improvement, much of which are the result of the building being very old...
- Despite the large room layout, the bathrooms are very cramped.
- Hot water did not last long. Good enough for one person, but not two.
- Windows on the second story are unreachable and led to a sleepless night -- we didn't realize it was an open window on the 2nd story causing noise from being near the dumpster til the morning.

Unfortunately, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FeloniosMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear FeloniousMonk,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. I is also lovely to know that our Reception staff provided you with a helpful service, and that you found our Suites spacious. The Old Government Building, that houses Heritage Christchurch, is a Category 1 Historic Building Trust building, and therefore we are limited in what we can structurally do to it, including large water capacity. I do sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused!

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

We arrived from the UK at noon and were delighted to find our room was ready for us, so a greats start! The room was huge on two levels and super comfortable. We were only staying one night and found the maps and ideas given to us by the from desk were very helpful and spot on! Breakfast the following morning was great and the attached bar and restaurant excellent. The whole place was a testament to great customer service, we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Barbara S,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and found our Suites super comfortable; it is also lovely to know that our Reception staff provided you with a helpful service, and you found the Hotel's facilities great!

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

The location of this hotel is the best in Christchurch, right on Cathedral Square and a short walk to New Regent Street. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, it had the added advantage of 2 full bathrooms. There's also a washer and dryer in your room, very handy if you're on a long trip. One piece of advice, don't select the breakfast buffet since the a la carte menu is cheaper and better.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shen_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Shen_Jackson,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, and loved our central location. It is also wonderful to know that you found our self-contained split level Suites convenient!

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Nice spacious building in centre of town. Great big room over two floors. Friendly and helpful service at hotel reception. Very nice hotel bar with good buzz and nice wine selection. Parking nearby. Id recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emmet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Emmet K,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and found our Suites spacious; it is also lovely to know that our Reception staff provided you with a friendly and helpful service.

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

We were very happy with our corner suite. The ceilings were 6m high, no less, and the windows were huge. The bed was on a purpose built mezzanine so that part was cozy. Loved having a washing machine in the bathroom, especially since we'd been travelling for two weeks by this time. The bar/cafe is a happening spot in Christchurch, and they have a new barbers shop, too!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sziv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Sziv,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. Its lovely to know you enjoyed the space and cosiness of our split-level suites; the rooms are indeed designed as self-contained apartments so we are happy you found the washing machine / dryer useful!

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews