We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camelot Motor Lodge
Ranked #57 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Piha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The most comfortable bed”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The room was cozy and well presented, little touches of red that made you feel at home. The best thing though was the quality of the bed, soft and comfortable. Probably one of the best motel beds I have ever slept in. The bed alone is worthy of a second visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piharian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    131
    38
    13
    8
See reviews for
127
144
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed here recently with a sports team. They were well set up to cover all our needs, ensuring we had all the items we had requested which made cooking for 19 people very easy. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable and it is very close to the central City. The hospitality of the owners was amazing. They even helped us pack our vans at the end of our stay. I would recommend the Camelot for anyone looking to stay in Christchurch, I will certainly love to stay there again. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanneandeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nites and was our first stop on the South Island. The staff were very friendly and they very kindly upgraded us on arrival which was delightful as I was travelling with two teenagers. The extra space was fantastic. I loved the bed - very cosy and warm. The kitchen was handy and there was a comfortable lounge room. All clean and maintained. An easy walk to town and other attractions/restaurants. Looking back now, the Camelot was our favourite place to stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeenieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creswick
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I have stayed at "Camelot" three times now during the passed two years and have been made to feel very welcome on each occasion and that nothing is ever too much trouble for the owners,Penny and Brian.Since the earthquake in 2010 the location has become central to Christchurch; with the Bus Station round the corner in Bealey Avenue linked to all parts of New Zealand,several good eateries nearby, shopping in Merivale;splendid walks to the Avon River,Hagley Park and the Botanics,the Airport and CBD a short drive away, the position is hard to beat.
The well constructed buildings are spaciously set out,the rooms clean and maintained to high standard,private and quiet, which introduces an atmosphere that is both efficient but yet homely.
We have nothing but good memories.

Room Tip: Stairs to upper floor may be difficult for some elderly people.No lifts.[elevator]
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalPamCreswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pequot Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We started and finished our time in New Zealand at the Camelot Motor Lodge. Brian & Penny Davidson were excellent hosts, so very helpful to us Minnesotans, in New Zealand for the first time. They were always friendly and even helped us with a computer problem. Rooms were clean and comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Ground floors are easily accessible with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 km away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#40 of 144 in Christchurch
128 reviews
0.1 km away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
592 reviews
1.9 km away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#33 of 144 in Christchurch
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#64 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.5 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
613 reviews
0.4 km away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#27 of 144 in Christchurch
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motor Lodge

Property: Camelot Motor Lodge
Address: 28 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#37 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,452 - ₹ 7,872
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelot Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A castle-like 34 unit motel complex in the heart of Christchurch, set amongst beautiful rose gardens with swimming pool, spa pool, BBQs and children's play area. Experience award winning service and personal attention from Penny and Brian, AA Supreme Host of the Year Winners plus enjoy the uniqueness that is Camelot, from the spacious studios and suites to the extra large two story two bedroom Apartments and four bedroom Lodge. Check us out now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Camelot Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Camelot Motor Hotel Christchurch
Best Western Christchurch
Best Western Camelot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing