We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argyle on the Park
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 131
US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 143
US$ 123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 177
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$ 88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arthur's Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Glen Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$ 65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 279
US$ 222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
146
130
29
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
130
29
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagley parkbotanical gardenstrain stationgreat locationseparate bedroomwelcome basketmotel hoteltrans alpinecity centreboy racersbeautiful parksky tvpleasant walkfree transferminute walknew zealandwalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We got upgraded to an apartment and the owner was helpful even though we arrived late and helped us with information on the shuttle to the train station. When there was no alarm clock in our unit he loaned us his.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa99022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This was a great hotel for the price! The owner was very helpful, even telling us beforehand what taxi to take from the airport. We came here after a long flight from the US (with a layover in Aukland) and the owner was very kind. He also helped us grab a taxi late in the afternoon went we went to Willowbank.
The rooms were very comfortable and the shower had good pressure. They weren't the most updated, but for the money we paid to stay there, we thought they were very good. I loved that the location was just across from the park and we spent some time walking around the park and botanic gardens after we got there. The free shuttle to the TranzAlpine was a much appreciated! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerschelWalkerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights after finishing a guided tour. The location is great. Hagley Park just across the road and within walking distance to the city center. This was the best value for money I could find when booking. It was clean and comfortable and the hosts were very friendly and helpful in booking other activites and the airport shuttle. The room was quite spacious and there is Skye TV if you are so inclined.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We Had an amazing stay at Argyle on the park a few weeks ago, I can't stress what a great location it was. Across from the beautiful botanic gardens, heaven on earth, and round the corner from a busy road which has a mall on, all in walking distance.

The owners, Maggie and Bruce could not be more helpful if they had tried. A wealth of knowledge and tips, nothing was too much.

The apartment was lovely and clean, very comfortable beds and lovely showers.

We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: There was three of us and stayed in a lovely room in the corner, very peaceful.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manchester9908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Argyle on the Park is located opposite Hagley Park from which the Botanical Gardens and what remains of the city centre can be easily reached. Just around the corner there are numerous restaurants and food outlets and there's a supermarket in the large mall up the road. The airport road is nearby. Consequently, location is the strongest point in the hotel's favour. It's not that it's poor by any stretch, it just doesn't have any great features; the word adequate springs to mind. A good sized bed - king formed by joining two singles - and sufficient dining and lounging furniture with space for plenty of storage, while the kitchen has fridge, microwave and two ring burner. Wash basin and shower have good hot water supply. Add to that that it's quiet outside work hours and that's about it. It's a fair choice with good access to the city and i'm happy to recommend but with little enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caneable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews