We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place, close to some nice restaurants”
Review of Argyle on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argyle on the Park
Ranked #23 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great little place, close to some nice restaurants”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed one night before we flew out of Christchurch. The hotel was pretty handy for the airport and a short walk through the park into town. I would have liked to have more time to explore Christchurch but we just couldn't fit it in. The owner was really friendly and gave some good tips for things to see in our short stay and places to eat. Just round the corner we found a great little Indian restaurant which I would recommend. If we were going back to Christchurch I'd stay again, it was great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    94
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
69
118
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We got upgraded to an apartment and the owner was helpful even though we arrived late and helped us with information on the shuttle to the train station. When there was no alarm clock in our unit he loaned us his.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa99022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This was a great hotel for the price! The owner was very helpful, even telling us beforehand what taxi to take from the airport. We came here after a long flight from the US (with a layover in Aukland) and the owner was very kind. He also helped us grab a taxi late in the afternoon went we went to Willowbank.
The rooms were very comfortable and the shower had good pressure. They weren't the most updated, but for the money we paid to stay there, we thought they were very good. I loved that the location was just across from the park and we spent some time walking around the park and botanic gardens after we got there. The free shuttle to the TranzAlpine was a much appreciated! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerschelWalkerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights after finishing a guided tour. The location is great. Hagley Park just across the road and within walking distance to the city center. This was the best value for money I could find when booking. It was clean and comfortable and the hosts were very friendly and helpful in booking other activites and the airport shuttle. The room was quite spacious and there is Skye TV if you are so inclined.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We Had an amazing stay at Argyle on the park a few weeks ago, I can't stress what a great location it was. Across from the beautiful botanic gardens, heaven on earth, and round the corner from a busy road which has a mall on, all in walking distance.

The owners, Maggie and Bruce could not be more helpful if they had tried. A wealth of knowledge and tips, nothing was too much.

The apartment was lovely and clean, very comfortable beds and lovely showers.

We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: There was three of us and stayed in a lovely room in the corner, very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manchester9908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.6 km away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#33 of 144 in Christchurch
263 reviews
2.2 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
0.1 km away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#58 of 144 in Christchurch
141 reviews
1.8 km away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 144 in Christchurch
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle on the Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle on the Park

Property: Argyle on the Park
Address: 145 Deans Avenue | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,170 - ₹ 7,425
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyle on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Argyle on the Park motel. With its unique location right across Hagley Park in the middle of the City, it makes it ideal for travelers wanting to explore Christchurch. For those who wish to catch TranzAlpine or Coastal Pacific trains we provide Free Transfer to and from Christchurch Railway Station. The motel has twelve fully self-contained units. Each unit has full Kitchens, Heat Pumps, Double glazing, Sky TV and Free WiFi. Riccarton Westfield Shopping Mall, many restaurants and cafes are within walking distance. It is also just few minutes' drive from Christchurch famous HornCastle Arena and Addington Raceway & Events Centre. If you are looking for stay in Christchurch then look no further! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyle on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle On The Park Hotel Christchurch
Argyle On The Park Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing