We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waipara Wine Tour”

Discovery Travel Day Tours
Ranked #16 of 92 Tours in Christchurch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Christchurch based tour operator offering small group, day tours to Akaroa, Waipara wineries, Arthurs Pass, Kaikoura, and Hanmer Springs, giving you a very personalized tour. Cruise ship tours from Akaroa are also available. Activities such as whale watching, swimming with dolphins, TranzAlpine Train, thermal pools, spa treatments, jet boating, and wine tastings are all on offer. Private charters for 2 people to 200 people are also available.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Waipara Wine Tour”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I arranged for a group of friends and myself to take the Waipara Valley Wine Tour with Discovery Travel - we had a great time!! Excellent communication from Jo and John, and I found that they were very accommodating - even picking our party up from a residential address to save us all having to make our way into town! We visited several wineries, one where we had a fantastic lunch, and all in all we all enjoyed ourselves immensely. I think that this tour is excellent value for money, and a great day out - I have no hesitation in recommending Discovery Travel to anyone interested in using their services :)

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Whale flukes and rock lobster/crayfish in one sunny day!”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Our travel agent booked us on the one discovery whale watching tour to Kaikoura. It was a beautiful sunny day, just my husband and I in the car. The whales did their part--seeing those flukes come up the air was so graceful and amazing. And our driver and guide, John make it pleasant and comfortable all the rest of the day. John is an amiable and intelligent driver and easy to talk with if you choose to. We chatted all the way to Kaikoura and John was not only knowledgeable about the land, people, and politics of New Zealand but was also a good listener. He was attentive to our comfort, stopping for coffee on the way up, explaining the procedure for the whale boats. After we went on the boats to watch giant Sperm whales diving, John was waiting for us and took us to an open air seafood shack where I had the best bbq crayfish (grilled rock lobster to me) ever. Right before we got to this very popular seafood shack, a tour bus got in line---John suggested that we leave him with the order and take a walk on the beach, wasn’t that considerate?! We had a seaside walk in the sun and when we got back John had our lunch and table. The day was topped off when he took us to a beach where we could walk out on the rocks at low tide to see the seals up close. We slept on the way back to Christchurch and John drove expertly!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank stilltravelin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must-do NZ tour!”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We went on the Arthurs Pass tour with John and couldn't have had a better time! John was incredibly accommodating, friendly, patient and knowledgable. We had the added advantage of a personalized tour as we were the only two with him today - John was open to stop wherever we had requested and took pictures for us anytime. He knew all the hotspots and made it a truly unforgettable trip to remember for a lifetime. We will definitely be back for another Discovery Tour! Thanks John and Jo!

Helpful?
1 Thank Santhi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Arthur's Pass Tour Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We recently went on the Arthur's Pass tour, a full day with a wide range of activities. Our family thoroughly enjoyed the day. Our guide,Trevor, was excellent. His knowledge of the area was impressive as was his relaxed attitude. As we were the only people on the tour he was able to add things on that he thought we might enjoy so we were also able to go on a short walk to a waterfall at Arthur's Pass and visit a winerie on the way home. A great day.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a great day out!”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

we went with John on his waipara wine tour from christchurch.we visited 4 wonderful wineries.in the 1st we had lunch,accompanied by the most wonderful sauvignon blanc we have ever tasted!John was very knowledgeable and friendly,and the weather was lovely.we tasted lots of different local wines including dry riesling,sauvignon blanc,and some delicious reds.we finished by tajing coffee in the lovely garden of the last winery.
we had a truly marvellous day,and would recommend it to anyone who likes good wine,or even just as a great and educational day out!
well done john! we shall come to see you again next time we visit christchurch.very good value.
nick and sue dawes rochdale lancs england

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discovery Travel Day Tours also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Discovery Travel Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing