We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome Experience Overall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St James Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St James Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 135 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
palmerston north
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience Overall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Margaret is the ultimate hostess, the perfect combination of friendly yet uber-professional.
The breakfasts were to die for, always different and with attention paid to the smallest details. Sometimes I was even lucky enough to come by extra food for lunch - but don't expect that! This family house turned into a bed and breakfast has fortunately suffered minimal if any damage from the ongoing earthquakes and is a very welcoming place to rest and relax with bedrooms with ensuites, lovely big baths and a gorgeous outside atmosphere as well with balconies, verandas and a lovely garden. I highly recommend St. James Bed and Breakfast to anyone.

Room Tip: Discuss with Margaret what your particular needs are - I'm sure if she can help out she will.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katrina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
41
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We were here for barely 24 hours, leaving at 3am for a flight, but absolutely everything about our stay was perfect and we were so well looked after.
In rooms off a lovely family's home our every need was considered and catered for. We had a lovely big double room with ensuite shower room and doors onto the garden as well as our own sitting room. Lavish for such a short stay but such wonderful value for money.
The welcome was warm and upon hearing of our early departure we came back from dinner to find a tray of breakfast goodies to eat on the go.
It's a five minute skip to the airport and maybe 10 into the city suburbs.
Thank you for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: There are ground floor and first floor rooms depending on your mobility. The family does have dogs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I originally chose St James as it is so close to the airport and I was only staying the night to pick up a friend. I didn't expect to find such a lovely place. And so we booked to stay again at the end of a week long trip around the South Island. Relaxing and welcoming, it was the perfect place to unwind before returning home.

Margaret is the most welcoming host I have ever had the pleasure of staying with. Although my previous visit had been short and 4 months earlier, she remembered me, which made me feel very much at home.

Our room was lovely, with an adjoining lounge that overlooked the beautiful garden. Homemade mince pies were provided upon our arrival and chocolate muffins were awaiting us the next morning. In response to my chocolate allergy, Margaret kindly rustled up a batch of lemon and blueberry muffins so I wasn't left out the next day. The breakfasts were divine and it was such a pleasure to chat with Margaret as she cooked and we ate.

There is both a cat and dog on the premises, although the dog is a friendly spoodle which makes the B&B the perfect place for those with dog allergies. I can seldom recommend places I stay to my very allergic mother, so I am delighted that I can recommend St James to her, and any other travelers who similarly suffer.

We look forward to returning to St James in the future and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who enjoys good old-fashioned Kiwi hospitality in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S'pore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

St James Bed and breakfast is an excellent place for some one who want to get away from the crowd of the city and at the same time to be near the airport. You have to see for yourselves the beauty of the house and the gardens. The whole place is so beautiful! In short, it is a very suitable place for tired family of travelers to rest.
Our host, Margaret, confirmed with me that they are alright despite the recent quake in December 2011. Thank God for that!
This is one place that I will come to again on my next visit to NZ.

Room Tip: Suitable for families with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skalai67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The title says everything about this place. And it's not far away from the airport which means that if you are tired after a long flight you are just a few minutes away from this oasis of comfort, hospitality and peacefulness. It was a great start to our trip!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luiza007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 km away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
2.2 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
6.6 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#5 of 145 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#5 of 135 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.6 km away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 110 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.3 km away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#3 of 145 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James Bed & Breakfast

Property: St James Bed & Breakfast
Address: 125 Waimakariri Road | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,993 - ₹ 10,706
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St James Bed and Breakfast is a country Paradise 5 minutes from Christchurch International Airport and 10 minutes from Christchurch City. It is set in landscaped gardens featuring a rose walk and flowers for every season. The rooms are beautifully appointed and refurbished and two full suites with lounges are available for your comfort in addition to a lovely Balcony Room with separate spa-bathroom. Also now featured is The Stables - separate apartment with a kitchenette with self service breakfast provided. This has a unique position to enjoy a country aspect with parking at the door and lovely outdoor relaxing area as well. Come and enjoy our friendly Kiwi Hospitality and sumptuous surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your St James Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing