We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Red Door Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Door Cottage
Restful Master Bedroom Peaceful 2nd Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Red Door Cottage
Restful Master Bedroom
Peaceful 2nd Bedroom
Trendy Decor
Plenty of Space
Dining for Six
Comfortable Couches
Relax in Comfort
Sunny Lounge
Spacious Living Area
Modern Kitchen
Outdoor Living
Sunny Verandah
Tranquil Private Garden
Outdoor Garden Seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Christchurch, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Springfield, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Red Door Cottage was the perfect place for an extended vacation. Located in the Merivale area, it was close to a variety of shops and restaurants. My group of four adults spent a wonderful week there as we explored the areas in and around Christchurch. The lovely house was very clean and comfortable and provided more than enough room for an enjoyable stay. It contained all necessities and Jenny had the fridge and pantry stocked with breakfast foods. Jenny was also very helpful with any questions I had and gave me information about things to do in the area. She always answered her e-mail promptly and was so nice. Jenny sent explicit directions on reaching the house and also provided a book of information about the house and surrounding area. It was also helpful to have wifi and laundry facilities available. Red Door Cottage was the nicest rental I have ever stayed in and I only wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nice homey atmosphere of the house.
Liked least: They were doing road construction close to the property at the time, but that was only a minor inconvenience.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
234SM1
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great Family Stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed 2 nights (Aug. 19 & 20th) while visiting South Island. The house is close to the airport and is a great spot for families. It was very comfortable for a family of 5 (including 3 teenagers). The house is clean and fully equipped (kitchen appliances, dishes/pots, separate washer and dryer) and comes with everything you need. Supermarket is a 10 minute walk from the house. I was also able to conveniently park my rental car on the property. Free WiFi worked perfectly.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltra...
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely cottage - easily accessible, warm, clean and comfortable with everything you could need to be self contained. City center is close as are great restaurants in Merivale. Beds were so comfy that we didn't want to get up. Enjoyed every minute of our stay - 'we'll be back' .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: clean and comfortable in nice surrounds
Liked least: having to U turn to enter via Papunui road
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio, US
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
We're thrilled you enjoyed your time at Red Door, we love our little house and it's great to hear others enjoy it too. Please come back and stay next time you're in NZ. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terry M
Parksville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally beyond expectation”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Thank you Jenny for allowing us to have a home away from home at the Red Door Cottage for three wonderful nights. How we wish we could have stayed longer, but our itinerary just did not allow it this time. It is far more than a Cottage. It is a two bedroom home and with all the comforts of home including a fully equipped kitchen and many provided extras in the fridge and food cupboard that you certainly would not expect to find. The bowl of assorted chocolates and vase of flowers was the icing on the cake. We hope very much to be able to return very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Total comfortable surroundings
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing