We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no need to find others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #6 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Our third time in Christchurch and so far this hotel is the best! the room is sizable (4 of us in a family room) clean and quite with quality bed and bath, location is great 10 minutes walk to downtown cathedral square.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKKBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

776 - 780 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2010

We were looking for a quality central city motel that would provide us with a personal friendly experience that was walking distance to the city but handy to the one way street systems around the city. We got that and more on our two night stay. Peter and Naomi were freindly and helpful and their motel is superb. We would recomend them for a great nights stay at very competitive pricing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ice2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We chose this motel as it was Christchurch's No.1 place to stay and it did not disappoint. We stayed here for the first night of our 3 week adventure around the South Island, and for the last 2 nights. Jeff and Naomi are perfect hosts, helpful and informative, nothing is too much trouble. Great location, just 10 minutes walk from the centre of town, but far enough out to be very quiet and aid a recovery from a 27 hour flight. Rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed with all mod-cons and extremely clean. Whilst it is not cheap, it is still very good value, especially when you consider that we are a family of 5 and we had a two bedroom room, with a z-bed added to the lounge. Overall, just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigTaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

CentrePoint on Colombo was to be our first hotel stay on our first ever trip to New Zealand. I could not have made a better choice!

The room was just what we needed for a family of four--quiet, clean, and with a flat screen TV for the kids. But what really made our stay worthwhile was the manager/owner. Never having been to Christchuch before, Jeff provided a wealth of knowledge that made our stay that much more enjoyable--driving directions, suggestions for activities, etc.

The location of the hotel was perfect. It was easy to get to from the airport, and its central location meant that we didn't need to drive around the central business district--we were able to walk to all the main tourist places we wanted to see.

We returned to the hotel for our last night in New Zealand. It was like coming home to the family! I had the challenge of getting my rental car back to a location in the city, and Jeff gave me directions to get there fast and quick--I made it with just 5 minutes to spare.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLarapinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Jeff was most helpful when we had arrived earlier than expected in Christchurch and had to put up at a less-than-optimal motel. We wanted to move into CentrePoint on Colombo the following day but unfortunately there was no available room.

Jeff kindly suggested alternatives comparable to the standard of his hotel and even helped us to call up to confirm if there was indeed an available room.

He even offered to text us should there be an available room the next day in CentrePoint on Colombo.

The service provided was exceptional and he even gave us a list of recommended eating places, tried-and-tested by him. We took his recommendations and we were duly rewarded. :)

All in all, it was a great pity that we had only a short stay of 1 night at CentrePoint on Colombo.

Spend at least a couple of days at this motel that is a hotel in all ways possible!:)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jungfraujoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,938 reviews
1.4 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
648 reviews
0.8 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,367 reviews
1.0 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
677 reviews
0.8 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: ₹ 5,821 - ₹ 10,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing