We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jeff and his wife are extremely helpful and caring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #6 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the CentrePoint on Colombo Motel. Jeff and his wife offered hints and tips about the area and our room was very comfortable and perfectly clean. We appreciated that the motel offered recycling options and a laundry. The fees for internet access and for the laundry were minimal and we used both the internet access and the laundry.
We would not hestitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Hi jan m and thanks for the review. We are glad you liked our hints and tips as well as the room, great to hear. Yes we offer full recycling options and appreciated guests who particiapte in the programme we offer. The laundry is there too and gets a lot of use at $2 for a wash and $2 for a dry. We are confident that our fast and stable internet service is great value for $5 for up to two 24 hr internet passes and there is a choice of either wireless or cabled access. Oh and we have a $2 for 2 hours option as well. Glad you would be happy to visit us again and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 596 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights in Early March 2012

Besides an issue with booking my room over the internet (I ended up doing it the "old fashioned" way and rang the Motel Direct), everything else was perfect

Rooms were comfortable and I did find the manual for proper bed sheer use amusing for overseas guests. As others have mentioned the recycling program was a very nice touch and did make me pay more attention to what i was discarding

I can't remember what i paid (if any) for the internet but it was blindingly fast and perfect for my stay

Location was good. 5 mins to the Casino and about a block from the Red Zone. There is a basic Dairy about 500 meters away for drinks and snacks

Only slight negative was that the heating was too good. I ended up having to turn mine off before bed otherwise the room was too hot.

Recommended

Room Tip: Make sure you lock the door before closing. The rooms here do not automatically lock like in Hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alessiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Hi there alessiman and thanks for the review. Sorry about the slight inconvinience on the online booking, I think we have the issue resolved. But great to hear that you found everything else perfect. WE believe its important to get a good nights sleep and with all the different ways of sleeping in beds around the world, we have found that a quick visual guide helps a lot of people get the idea about how to have a good sleep in our beds. Thanks for taking the time to participate in our recycling prgramme. Yes, you would have paid $5 for 24 hrs of internet (up to 2 connections) or you may have used the $2 for 2 hours option. But happy to hear you found it blindingly fast and perfect for your stay - maybe you were using the cabled option which is in all rooms.
Yes we do have most things close by, from the Casino to the Red Zone and a simple Dairy just up the road for getting a few snacks etc.
The heating is actually thernmostatically controlled - there is a control on each heater - so turning down the thermostat will result in a more comfortable room temperature.
Many thanks for an wide ranging review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Jeff and his wife went above and beyond to help us, a couple of honeymooning Aussies who left a phone in a taxi cab. From the moment we arrived they just made us feel welcome, and they were so cheery in a town that is really doing it tough. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and we liked the recycling options. Jeff is a genuinely nice man who couldnt help us enough. Thank you so much, we will be back hopefully for a longer time. Cheers

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Hello there Stephen T and thanks for the review after staying with us on your honeymoon. We had a lot of fun together chatting and this that and the other but then it did turn deadly serious when we discovered the phone was gone!! But thanks to the great taxi driver who returned the phone, all is well! I've posted the phone and it should be back with you in a matter of days! We are glad that you liked the motel, the recycling options and found the rooms comfortable. We look forward to seeing you in Christchurch again soon. Cheers, Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. The room was spacious – two beds and a nice kitchen area – and perfectly clean. We stayed just a few days after the earthquake, so there wasn’t anything we could really see in the city, but the wonderful owner suggested that we take a drive out on the Banks Peninsula to the vacation town of Akaroa, and that ended up being a highlight of our trip. We ended up having a great day – and a great hotel to come back to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Hello Jess L and thanks for review. We do appreciate reviews from Senior Contributors. Yes, things to do in Christchurch are a little limited after the quakes but it is getting better everyday! Thanks for making use of our various services and it is great to here that the trip over to Akaroa, with the added on little extras, was a highlight of your visit! We do t ry to make sure everyone can make the most of their time in Christchurch, even after the earthquakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

It's no wonder that this place is rated number one and, similar to previous reviews, Jeff went out of his way to email us in advance, helping with eating & shopping locally, and upgrading us to a lovely big room. He seems to really care about his guests, despite the fact that we're very transient and I was impressed with the eco friendly products and recycling. We used the laundry which was much needed after about 10 days travelling and were able to walk to most places very easily.

The visit was tinged with sadness at the devastation in Christchurch but there seems to be a huge amount of resilience in the people and hope for the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pem243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Hello pem243 and thank you for the review. Once again, we are pleased to see such a seasoned Trip Advisor user satisfied with their stay with us. Glad you liked our style of service and our eco stance. And yes! while the laundry machine does its magic you can take a stroll to see the latest in Christchurch. After the quakes the cityscape is changing almost daily and we are happy to see things moving forward!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,940 reviews
1.4 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
648 reviews
0.8 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,370 reviews
1.0 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
677 reviews
0.8 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: ₹ 5,889 - ₹ 10,160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing