We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the hype”

Francesca's Italian Kitchen
Ranked #41 of 1,193 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here because we had heard good things. The vibe is pretty average, the food is good, but nothing spectacular. Probably wouldn’t bother visiting again

Thank ypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca's C, Manager at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ypup,

I am very sorry that your experience at Francesca's Italian Kitchen was not up to our usual standard that evening, that is definitely not the type of experience we want to be providing.
We hope you will give us another chance.

Grazie Mille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A perfect Italian dinner was spent at Francesca’s with clients. Meals were enjoyed by all; roast duck risotto and lamb Ragu with Paparadella. The restaurant was busy but not crazy, service was fair, and the atmosphere jolly and pleasant.

Thank GAW198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca's C, Manager at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ciao GAW198!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
We are delighted to see you enjoyed your meal with us.

Grazie Mille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Before getting kicked out because they rebooked our table we spent 3 1/2 hours in the restaurant waited from 6 PM till 7:15 for a first entree and the last main came out at 8:15 and at 8:25 we got asked to leave with a few people still eating and then we got told we were not allowed to order desert because they needed our table immediately and that they were box up the food of the people still eating so They can take it home !!! food got missed out drinks got stuffed up service was pretty poor only thing that was actually good was the company and the pizza that is the only thing They have going for them WOULD NOT RETURN

Thank Scenic824734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca's C, Manager at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Tyler.

I am sorry to read your review and I deeply apologize for the less than perfect experience you had with us.

Unfortunately, we had some issues with the pizza oven on the evening you dined with us which impacted service across the restaurant. Whilst unfortunate, these things do happen. Going forward we doing our utmost to ensure that similar events don’t occur again.

The reason you spent three and a half hours on the table is because you were dining with your Hospitality Management class and your tutor had requested that we answer you and your fellow students' questions regarding the hospitality industry and what comes with managing a restaurant. We took this time out of our schedule to ensure you were given the most thorough understanding possible.

Again, I am sorry for the disappointing experience you had with us, we’ll make sure this doesn’t happen again.

Regards,
Francesca's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

I'm italian and I came here yesterday evening. It's not an italian cousin at all. There are multiple pizzas that just don't fit in any form in our traditions. I couldn't see the "classical" starters you see in others italian restaurants. Despite this, I took the Margherita which was quite enjoyable, but you could perfectly see that the dough didn't rise much. The dessert was utterly awesome, thought.

Thank francescasF9860SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca's C, Manager at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Francesca S,

We were disappointed to read that you did not feel you had an authentic experience when dining with us. Our pizzas are traditional Italian style and while we try to use as many local ingredients as possible we do import high-quality European products to use on our pizzas which we then prepare ourselves. We follow the ethos of Italian cooking, learned from growing up with my family on the southern coast of Italy but we do apologise if it wasn't to your taste.

Grazie Mille.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

My wife loves Italian food but frankly we were really disappointed to find no Lasagna on the menu. Is it really an Italian restaurant if you cant get a lasage???
We selected the a Pizza each and whilst I'm sure many people like their flavor combinations they didn't really hit the spot for us.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank New_South_Woodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca's C, Manager at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ciao New South Woodies,

We are incredibly sorry you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant.
We apologize if lasagna was what you were after but we like to think our food is authentic and well thought through with a variety of different kinds of pasta and risottos. We regret deeply that you did not enjoy your pizza. We always check on our tables and had you brought the matter to our attention at the time we would have happily made you another.

We thank you for your advice.

Grazzie Mille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Francesca's Italian Kitchen also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Francesca's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing