We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
60
9
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely home great hosts new zealand enjoyable stay garden room comfortable bed a great place to stay barry city linens luxury airport nz cereal
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

For us, it was location, location, location. Dyers house was the perfect location for our short 2-night stay in Christchurch. Close to the city, close to the NZ National Bottle Show, close to restaurants. Angela and Barry connected with us both. They provided us with breakfast options as we had to leave early Saturday morning and breakfast on Sunday was one of the best we have ever had. A most enjoyable stay and we will be back :)

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Dr Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Dyers House is a gem of a place in a great location perched on a hill overlooking downtown Christchurch making the views quite stunning. Its inviting outside pictures only tease how charming, tastefully decorated yet comfortable it is on the inside. Our perfectly kept room facing the fairyland garden was delightful to sleep in. Barry & Angela were always available with help, suggestions and fine conversation. The breakfast is fabulous!!! From the moment we met Barry at the airport until our final good-byes, we felt welcome and cared for.

Room tip: The bus line is easy to use and a stop is closeby.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CELVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

What a fabulous house! Great views from the dining/living area, wonderfully decorated and cared for throughout, and only a short distance to the centre of Christchurch. We had a luxurious room facing the garden with lovely linens, comfortable bed, and a large ensuite bathroom. Angela and Barry were fabulous hosts - all in all, a great place to stay and we would recommend.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank RsqDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

After Air New Zealand cancelled our flight from Rotorua we had to take a bus back to Auckland. Due to the length of time to get back we missed our connecting flight to Queenstown. Air NZ couldn't get us to our destination until the next day, which would have missed our tours we had set up. We had to cancel the entire Queenstown part of our vacation. They were able to get us a flight to Christchurch, that put us there 1 1/2 days early. Being it was during ChineseNew Year, all the hotels in the city were full and our reservations weren't ready. We called our travel agent at home and he found a B&B a little bit out of town. We met Barry, owner of Dyers House that night (11:30pm) waiting for our arrival. We were exausted from spending 9 hours in the Aukland Airport while waiting for our flight to Christchurch. Barry helped us to our room, that was most pleasant and comfortable with wonderful views of the gardens and Christchurch below. We woke up late and Barry and Angie had prepared our breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, coffee and tea, and more all of which were beautifully presented and excellent. We met Angie that day, a delightful,hard working lady that made us feel so welcome. Both Barry and Angie were very knowledgable of the Christchurch area and were very helpful in our planning while in Christchurch. Had we known about Dyers House we may have stayed there instead of going to town where our reservations were for the remainder of our stay. We recommend the Dyers House to anyone who is looking for a five star B&B! Thanks to Barry and Angie for their genuine hospitality and absolute pride in their gorgeous establishment.

Room tip: Just a beautiful room with delicious food and wonderful people to help you.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 548Derf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Wonderful views from this well situated and turned out house. Barry and Angela could not have been more helpful in making us comfortable at home, and with guidance on local sites and our trip onward.

Note: There is an issue with the road noise. But we did not find it so objectionable as to seriously interfere with sleep.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hrd2pleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews