We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Nearby Hotels
Blenheim Palms Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Marlborough(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$ 179
US$ 130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlborough Vintners Hotel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lugano Motor Lodge(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$ 96
US$ 94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$ 100
US$ 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centre Court Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
US$ 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
171 on High Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$ 111
US$ 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middle Park Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$ 104
US$ 97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ellena Court Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$ 115
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 827
US$ 804
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
201
164
30
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
164
30
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hoteltop floorbuffet breakfastwell stocked mini barfree wifithe air conditioningseymour squarenice poolnew zealandreception areafudgerooms are cleanlovely parkhotel roomclose to shopsgreat roomhappily stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Scenic is a juxtaposition of era's which I found superb. Recently upgraded the rooms are high tech and very modern with iPhone bed side docks, 4 x USB in wall chargers, every cable connection for iPad/computer/iphone to TV you could want. The minibar was very well stocked and included items that hotels we've stayed in priced at $1600 per night haven't had. The bed was very comfortable, while the bathroom was small (no bath) but perfectly adequate.

The rest of the hotel is yet to be refurbished, and frankly I think it will be a shame when it is. It is currently in the 70's style and being a child of the 70's, has its own very unique charm. It does not seem tired, just transposed from 1975 to today. I loved it. The bar felt a little like Fawlty Towers decor without Basil (mores the pity). It is a shame that once refurbished it will lose the unique charm it has, and to me it seems perfect as is - super modern rooms with wonder bygone era facilities.

We didn't eat in the hotel, preferring to eat at Hotel D'Urville (superb, award winning, must try restaurant), but we did use the Spa, Sauna area which was very clean and pleasant.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The top floor has wonderful Velux sky lights in the room we stayed in.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloydb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInkster, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Scenic Hotel Marlborough. We have put a great deal of throught into our accommodation rooms - ensuring they provide the essentials for all different types of travelling guests. It is fantastic that you enjoyed your stay in our recently refurbished rooms.
Our second stage of the hotel refurbishment is set to begin August this year, and even though the current 'unique charm' will undergo a face lift, we believe that the character of the Scenic Hotel Marlborough will remain intact, seeing the entire property sitting at a four star plus Qualmark rating.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future.

Kind regards,
Brett Inkster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Ever tried to find and book accommodation online using a mobile phone? Why oh why are so many travel websites not optimised for use on a mobile? Come on, guys! Anyway, after 15 minutes of squinting at the screen, all the while missing the fabulous scenery flashing past the car, I gave up trying to view and book other options and chose the first listing on the first site that worked properly: Scenic Hotel Marlborough.

We weren't expecting much, given that we'd kind of put a pin in a virtual map. Our first impression after check-in was that the corridor leading to our room, while beautifully renovated, smelt of something wierd, perhaps some chemical in the new carpet, or forty years worth of salesmen's cigarettes and steak-and-chips that a refurbishment couldn't completely erase. But once we got into our room and closed the door, the smell was gone and the corridor didn't matter any more. The room was fabulous.

It had everything we needed. An iPod dock with speakers. A charging hub for anything you could think of to charge, plus USB ports so you could review your photos on the huge flat-screen TV, or connect it to your laptop. A huge bed, crisp clean white linen, light fluffy duvet, good pillows. Beautiful new bathroom, with a shower big enough for two. Mini bar and kettle. A pirate.

He was in my dream, this shirtless pirate, rowing a small boat towards an island on which birds screeched and monkeys howled, and exotic insects sang in the tangled jungle. I woke. Three a.m. My pirate - he was gone! But the whistling, screeching continued, faintly, as if from across a placid sea. My real-life pirate woke grumpily, dressed, and started the long trek downstairs to make sure the noise wasn't coming from our car alarm. It wasn't. It was coming from the air conditioning in our room. We shrugged and decided not to worry about it. If you pretended it was the sound of the distant jungle, it was easy to get back to sleep.

We loved this place and it was excellent value for money. We also had a great meal here, which I will review separately. Would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you have pirate fantasies, chose room 204.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInkster, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Scenic Hotel Marlborough.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We contunially strive to improve the services we offer our guests, and the airconditioning unit (or pirate) is under revision.
As we move into the second stage of our refurbishment, we will see the public areas transformed into a level that compliments our accommodation rooms, with the entire hotel sitting at a four star plus level.
We hope to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future.

Kind regards,
Brett Inkster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed here one night with my daughter. She especially loved the chocolates they left in the room. For the price we paid, this was a really nice clean rooms. The beds were super soft (had a pillow top), which I really enjoyed. If I had to complain about anything, it would be the heater. When it was on, there was a bright green light on the wall by my bed, but it seemed to go off automatically after some time (I discovered in the middle of the night). Luckily the blankets were heavy, but it seemed I had to choose between warmth and a bright light in the room... Just a pet peeve of mine (seems like so many hotels have bright or blinky lights by the bed). Everything else was really nice, so I would go back (maybe would prefer not in winter).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInkster, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your local welcoming chocolates, and our feather beds.
We are sorry that the heatpump light was disruptive to your sleep, this is under constant revision as we try to ensure the units are unobtrusive to our guests stay - therefore this feedback is very useful for us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future.
Kind regards,
Brett Inkster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed one night here with my young granddaughter. Everything was great from the hand written welcome note and chocolates on arrival to the bag to take home the toiletries that were unused. They went the extra mile for my 3 yr old grandaughter, Staff great room great couldn't ask for more in comfort and facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coaster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We value your feedback, we are always striving to offer tailored services for our guests and it is fantastic that you felt well looked after by the staff here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Brett Inkster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We spent a night on our tour of the South Island. The hotel was booked as a part of our package. This seemed to one of the best hotel out of our whole trip.

The Scenic Hotel seemed to be newly refurnished. Everything about the hotel was excellent. The room had a large flat screen TV on the wall and the bed huge and comfortable.
The bathroom was very fresh and clean with a good selection of toiletries and had a bag to take unfinished toiletries home in!

Staffs was very accommodating and polite.

The hotel is very near the centre of Blenheim and it's a pleasant walk into and around the town. We had a pleasant walk by the river, which is on the left out of the hotel and managed to find supermarket near the main road.
The restaurant service was great and was the only hotel on our tour, which gave us "a la carte" menu.

My wife used the sauna but had to book and get a slot in between the other users on our tour.

We certainly would use this hotel as and when we return to the area.

Room Tip: I am sure any of the rooms would be fine as the hotel seemed to have gone through a recent refurbishment
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chander_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInkster, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Scenic Hotel Marlborough.
We are pleased you enjoyed your time here in Blenheim - the river walk is definetly refreshing after a day travelling on a coach.
Our hotel is about to under go the second stage of refurbishment which will focus on our public areas. This will see the reception, bar, restaurant and conference areas refurbished to the same excellent standard as our accommodation rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future.

Kind regards,
Brett Inkster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews