We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Bed & Breakfast : the best we have stayed in!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlborough Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Barossa Valley
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional Bed & Breakfast : the best we have stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Beautifully situated in a rural country setting. Lovely ambience and so very gorgeous with all the creature comforts. Marilyn & Philip Cowe know exactly how to be the perfect host and hostess. I'm in the accommodation industry myself and it was an absolute treat to go somewhere and be spoilt. Breakfast provisions were delicious and generous. The bed was so comfortable and bedroom/cottage exquisitly decorated. My husband & I just couldnt believe our luck finding this little gem. We stayed in the cottage but they also have a hosted accommodation in their home and I think we may just have to fly over to NZ again to try it! Apparently Philip and Marilyn are renown for their breakfasts. We will definately be back and will stay longer than 3 days next time. Well done and again a big thank you to you both. Have already recommended this fabulous
B&B

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FletcherSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
79
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

What more could you ask for - gracous hosts, excellent food (breakfasts to die for), comprehensive and delicious wine tour - just needed to stay two weeks instead of two days. Philip prepared a delightful gourmet supper for us after our lengthy wine tour - driving was not a favorable option - we enjoyed the gourmet presentation with a bottle of wine and called the day and evening a spectacular experience. Marilyn prepared a detailed helpful map for us when we reluctantly had to depart. Stay here if you can !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

good advice on where to go &what to do, wonderful breakfasts when staying in the garden suite, warm & welcoming hosts

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rokemidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

This was the most expensive place that my husband and I stayed at. I think one night at that price was a nice luxury, and we enjoyed our time spent with the inn keepers. The room was extremely comfortable and clean. Philip took my husband and I on a private wine tour and afterwards we enjoyed a delicious anti-pasto platter. YUM! Great visit. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiemary04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

My husband and I stayed in the self-contained Adelaide's Barn for 3 nights during our Honeymoon.

Room: The barn is a nice little apartment with the rustic barn features beautifully preserved in the bedroom area and complemented by that room's decor. The kitchen/living room area is comfortable with a TV, mini-fridge, stove, and neccessities for cooking if you choose to do so. The bathroom was spacious with a shower, heated floors, and washing machine is a plus if you have been travelling for awhile and need to do any laundry (a drying rack is provided to dry your clothes).

Location: The property is located a little north of the town center of Blenheim. It is convenient if you want access both to the wineries and the Picton/Sounds area. The grounds are extensive, though as we were staying there during chilly and extremely windy weather we did not take advantage of them other than the views from the barn.

Hosts: Philip and Marilyn were extremely helpful and accomodating. We highly recommend taking advantage of dinner with the hosts as well as the wine tour to take advantage of Philip's culinary skills and wine knowledge as a chef. The tour with Philip was extremely helpful for us as we are just beginning to move beyond a very basic education in wine. He will sit down with you the morning of the tour and discuss with you what you are interested in and map out a route from there. He introduced us to some great wineries whose wines we are now seeking out back in the States. Marilyn is your go to if you need help planning any other activities and she will call around if you need it. She helped us our second full day there when we slept in a bit and wanted to go hike the Queen Charlotte Track. We also had fun with their dog Jess, who you can have as little of or as much of as you want. When we came back from the wine tour, she kept me company while my husband napped.

Food: As previously stated, dinner with the hosts should be taken advantage of. We signed up for our first night and Philip cooked our beef filets to order. It's also just a great way to hear some more about the area. In the barn, breakfast is croissants (baked by Philip) delivered each morning. They are enormous and probably the best croissants we have ever had. We were also provided with a loaf of bread (baked my Marilyn), and orange juice, milk, coffee, eggs, and fruit. On our last night, we dined at Gibb's Restaurant (highly recommended by Philip and Marilyn) and had what was probably the best meal of our entire 3-week honeymoon.

Overall: When it was time to move onto the next leg of our trip, this was one place that we didn't want to leave. We wished we could have spent a few more days there and hope to make a trip back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVTLNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
9.4 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
11.4 km away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Heritage Collection
9.7 km away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#2 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
12.7 km away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 24 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
8.7 km away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#4 of 43 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Kaituna-Tuamarina Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,568 - ₹ 16,021
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1877 historic home set in 7 acres with tranquil park-like gardens and meandering stream. Quiet luxury, either in-house B & B or self-contained accommodation. Just 5 minutes to Marlborough wineries and 15 to Picton and the Marlborough Sounds.Choose either the Garden Suite with private entrance off the wisteria-clad veranda, delightful ensuite bedroom & sunroom; or charming self-contained Adelaide’s Barn with romantic ensuite bedroom, lounge, kitchen and sunny, private courtyard for indoor/outdoor living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marlborough Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing