We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The shower was awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Wellington
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The shower was awesome”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed here for a few days and had a great time. The staff was really warm and friendly always giving me extra hot chocolate. I really liked the shower pressure, best in NZ!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsTiffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    66
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
41
73
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I stayed here for one night on my way to an early ferry from Wellington. The directions I was given were great as it is tucked away up a lane behind KFC. The undercover basement parking is great and from there acess to the hotel reception is via a lift. Check in was all very straightforward. The one-bedroom unit was spacious with a queen size bed in the living area and two single beds in the bedroom. There was a small kitchenette in the living area, but unfortuantely the microwave didn't work. The bathroom was large and with a shower over the bath.
Unfortuantely my room was very noisy as it was on the side of the hotel that backed onto the motorway and the traffic didn't stop until late at night and then started again early in the morning so not a very peaceful night. I have read several reviews that comment how quiet the hotel is - they absolutely must have stayed on the other side of the hotel. I would stay again, but only if I could be guaranteed a room on the quiet side of the hotel.
It is a little misleading to say that it is a Wellington Hotel/Motel as in non-peak traffic it takes 15 mins to drive into central Wellington, but this is still a very convenient location. Walking distance to local shops and takeaways.

Room Tip: Request a room on the quiet side of the hotel away from the motorway. Get driving directions as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The Best Western Wellington is absolutely fantastic, I would highly recommend this place to anyone. From the moment we walked in to the time we left the service was amazing. The rooms were cleaned to a very high standard and the selection of teas & coffees in the room was great. The rooms are modern and very comfortable. It is walking distance to a variety of shops and supermarket, if you don't have a car the train station is also close by. I have since recommended this place to friends, they have stayed and also had the same wonderful experience Thank you for making us feel at home, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaJaKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Thank you, we really appreciate you taking the time to complete a review. Thank you for all the positive feedback and we look forward to hosting you and any of your friends/family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan City,Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Very impressed with this place and would recommend to anyone. On arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome by a wonderful couple(manangers) who made us feel special, they were also extremely helpful with what ever I required nothing was too much trouble for them.
The room was very clean and the decor very modern with all facilities covered. It was lovely to come back to the motel after a big day out and soak in the spa with the free latest magazines. It was also very quiet at night with the most comfortable beds and pillows.
One of the guest staying with me who travels the world said it is the best shower he has ever had in a Motel anywhere in the world.
Shops, Transport,Restaurants all close by.
Totally recommend you stay here. I will be back for sure.
Chris D

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday2011Logan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This place is one little treasure to be found. It may take a little time to find it hidden away, but if you find KFC, then look up and you will see it not far away. Couldn't be better for Windy Wellington as you never have to step out into the weather - you go straight from your vehicle which has free parking undercover on groudfloor and enter into the lift which opens up into one huge open spaced lobby. The rooms are beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, classy and modern. We stayed for three nights, however could have stayed a month. A special little touch which we enjoyed was that there were uptodate magazines on the coffee table in the room so you could put your feet up, or fill up the spa bath and soak away reading a mag !! Very close to restaurants, and a variety of shops. Great hosts who were friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapriC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post your comments. We enjoyed hosting your stay and assisting you with 'out & about' information on Wellington, although you were very organised and had researched places of interest to you both before your arrival. Thank you again for your review and if we can be of assistance to you again at some furture date you would be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
7.7 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,646 reviews
7.4 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,141 reviews
8.5 km away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#19 of 46 in Wellington
133 reviews
7.1 km away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#31 of 46 in Wellington
139 reviews
8.7 km away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 46 in Wellington
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wellington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wellington

Property: Best Western Wellington
Address: 17 - 19 Burgess Road | Johnsonville, Wellington 6037, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Wellington)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,995 - ₹ 10,460
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 luxury units on the 2nd and 3rd levels with lift access direct from the car park. Free undercover parking with 24hr CCTV surveillance for peace of mind security. Quiet, comfortable accommodation features wireless internet (first 20MB free) in all rooms. Executive suites provide pampering with a Spa bath,Standard King bed & balcony. Central to the whole of the Wellington region, the Motel is only 10 minutes to the heart of Wellington city, 5min to Westpac Stadium & the Ferry Terminals, 10mins to Te Papa, Hutt Valley and Porirua. We are also on the train route directly into the Westpac Stadium and the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing