We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got a good deal that made it worth it...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trinity Hotel
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Got a good deal that made it worth it...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Room luckily facing a church and a busy street but not with pedestrians or over the bar and far enough up to be away from the garage door. Parking initially was a pain to try and get check in, then parked the car and just left it there until we check out. Room was small, well enough decorated with the washable sheet as the bed cover...small TV, but hey, its Wellington...you are doing to be out and about. The bartender was very friendly, too bad most of the alcohol on display were empty show bottles...no decent single malt...narry a one. The cocktails were...scary, flouro and tragic, but that seemed to be every where we went in Wellington. The shower was too small, the toilet seemed not to know what it was designed for...and the shelf that had the towels and was above the toilet, fell on me...twice. Luckily while I was reaching for a towel and not...'busy' shall we say. Bed was comfortable... furniture was way over sized though...huge bulky wardrobe and cabinet that couldn't even be used to brew a "cuppa" on. We got a deal and it made the whole thing very adequate and walkable to the good stuff...Cuba, Te Papa, the waterfront etc.

Room Tip: Don't face Willis St...and be well over the garage on the other side. We were also in a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lokabrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    179
    164
    61
    24
See reviews for
58
205
72
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Honestly amazed. The room looked OK but during the night we started to become unwell. I sneezed until I was exhausted and my son woke with swollen eyes. When I took a shower I rapidly found the shower base is installed incorrectly so that water flows out under the shower door flooding the bathroom and soaking the carpet. Black toxic mould must be there to make us so ill. Three days later and I am sill sick. Even worse we took the stairs (as the elevator doors snap shut like the jaws of an alligator) and found cartons and milk crates stacked across the fire exit. NOT a good place to stay! Amazed that these serious problems have never been fixed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roblinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trinity166, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate to hear you were unwell during your visit but rest assured there is no toxic mould in our showers or anywhere else in the hotel. Our property was thoroughly assessed by industry standards with in April, just after your stay in March, and we achieved, with a strong weighting of 12% on cleanliness, a rating of 4 out of 5 with very positive comments by the assessor in this area. It is a shame you didn't mention your dissatisfaction to the front desk or myself immediately or even after your first night, as according to hotel policy there would have been no charge to cancel the rest of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I really wanted to like this hotel. First impressions were good and even though their carpark was full we got good directions to local free parking options for the night.

Room itself was attractive and clean. Tea and coffee making facilities plus a fridge. There was a heater for winter and a fan for summer. Bathroom was a good size and it looked some tiling had been recently redone. Shower not as clean as I would like but not grotty enough to put me off. Bed was older and of the ‘roll together’ variety so not ideal for 2 people (minus 1 point). And then there was the noise.

We were on the 4th floor on the side street side but it sounded as if people were standing right beside our bed chatting until 3.30am. Would benefit from retro fitted double glazing – we would go back if this was done but not before. Got a great deal (for Wellington) at NZD$107 during Arts Festival week so a good option if you can sleep with ear plugs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Possum-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trinity166, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your review. I would like to confirmthat we have double glazed all our front room windows last month. There is a noticable improvement to the street noise. All our beds were replaced with Sleepyhead Hotel beds at the end of 2009 so they are only a couple of years old. We have put in place a diary to turn the matresses on a regular basis. We hope to see you again at Trinity Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The rooms and bathroom were quite small but clean and comfortable. I requested for a room away from the street as I can't stand traffic noise and I got it. However, as my room was on the third floor, we could hear noises and shouting coming from the bar downstairs. I don't know if it's just this occasion or if it's a regular thing, there was a lot of doors slamming too which makes it a little noisy. Good thing that stopped at bedtime. Car park spaces are available at NZ$15, I didn't take that up. I should have. It would have taken away the stress of looking for overnight parking. Luckily there was Wilson 24 hr parking just across from the hotel and it cost me only NZ$16!!! It was a weekend.
Trinity hotel is located at the corner of Willis Street and Dixon Street, extremely convenient! 5 mins from Cuba Mall, starbucks, and 10 mins from Ustay apartment and New World supermarket. We went to a Vietnamese restaurant 5 mins from the hotel, it was good and inexpensive.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel for a short stay, 2-3 days and no more.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyonya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My partner and I decided to stay one night in Wellington before our flight in the morning, at the last minute.
With no booking, we went to reception and she gladly booked us in, informed us of the deals in the bar and their taxi service, which we used. The barman was great, giving us the two for one happy hour deal even though we were 5 mins late. Our taxi driver was so welcoming even though it was a cold and wet early morning.

Room was good, mattress was a bit hard but bathroom was great! Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.9 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.0 km away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.5 km away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#21 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
0.3 km away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#20 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.5 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Hotel

Property: Trinity Hotel
Address: 166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,842 - ₹ 8,116
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Accommodation, affordable price, central location. A popular CBD hotel in Wellington ideally suited for the Business or Leisure traveler and only 10mins from the Airport. Perfectly situated for your convenience in the heart of Wellington’s entertainment, shopping, arts and business districts and only a short stroll to the Harbour and TePapa. Each of our 60 guest rooms having recently undergone a stylish, soft refurbishment, offer all you would expect and more including; modern tiled bathrooms, wireless high speed broadband, coffee/tea making facilities. SKYTV, radio/alarm clock. same day laundry and dry cleaning, telephone, hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing