We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

What a great place to stay, customer service & hospitality was faultless which always make you want to return and the rooms were clean & tidy. Close to the CBD & parliment and its only a 20 minute walk to Te Papa. The rooms are quiet as well which is always a bonus. Complimentry wi-fi is good. Definately would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    413
    125
    31
    7
See reviews for
199
674
65
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We were utterly delighted with our 4 night stay at the Bolton Hotel in late August 2012. My wife and two children accompanied me to see windy Wellington which certainly lived up to its name.
The Hotel which is slightly elevated above the CBD is in easy walking distance of any office appointment, eatery or the harbour. From a friendly check in, complimentary use of 2 x netbooks with free wi-fi, engaging and helpful staff throughout especially the Front Desk Manager, Concierge and Driver. There was plenty of things to do and we were well directed on how to get there.The evening meal was truly tasty and local. The corner 2 bedroom suite was amongst the best furnished and appointed we had stayed in, anywhere in the world. I just wished that more hotels had their act together as well as this Hotel.We returned to the airport in the Hotels chauffeur driven BMW with more panache than we would ever have expected.

Room Tip: I would always choose the Corner suite for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILMARAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I was surprised at the claim that the Bolton was a five star hotel. It was comfortable and probably a good three star, but definitely not five star. The foyer was rather small. The breakfast room was OK and I did not find the bar! Rooms were large and warm (important in Wellington's climate). The position was slightly off the beaten track, but close to Parliament and the rugby stadium. The walk into CBD was only five minutes, so not a problem.

The gym was small but well equipped. The adjoining pool was surprisingly deep at one end (2.4m) for the length of about 20m. The jacuzzi was large enough but had very few water jets. The sauna had to be turned on 20 minutes before you could go in."

Overall a good business hotel.

Room Tip: "Park View" looks at the motorway, across a very small park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo Victoria
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for an extended weekend break and opted for a suite. Ended up on the 14th floor overlooking the Memorial Park and the motorway which also gave a nice view of the hills. Surprisingly quiet room, clean, good amenities and a comfortable bed. Not flash in terms of furnishing so don't expect anything funky.

The staff wee consistently excellent - helpful, polite, cheerful and knowledgable. The location wasn't a big issue for us as we were happy to walk everywhere and the reality is most of downtown Wellington is within a 10-15 min walk.

Needless to say Wellington was at times wet and windy but it was a relaxing weekend. Worthwhile shopping at Bivouac and other outdoor stores for Icebreaker gear at very good prices. Also the Last Footwear Company shop in Cuba St for a great range of shoes and great service.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MEtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Bolton is positioned on the edge of the City in the CBD, handy for the train/bus station and a short walk from Parliament.

However it is the opposite end of the city from the main shopping area and Courtenay Place, where you find most of the theatres, cinemas, night clubs and restaurants. So a short bus/taxi ride is required, or if your up for it a brisk 15/20 min walk.

Although we live not to far from Welly up on the Kapiti coast we decided to treat ourselves to a weekend in Welly and make the most of the winter break offers which were floating about at the time.

The hotel is lovely inside, the rooms are fresh,clean and modern, beds are really comfy and a generous size ( very important when Hubby is 6ft 6). Staff are very helpful and polite.
The coffee shop downstairs is very popular with local office staff in the area, so if your there on a weekday it can be VERY busy, but don't let that put you off they do very good coffee an you must try one of the macrons. The restaurant is small but adequate and the staff very attentive. Breakfast service was brilliant, however we did lunch there on the saturday an service was VERY slow for which we could see no excuse as there were only 3 couples in there at the time.

The biggest disappoint for us was they had shut the pool and spa for maintenance - yet there was no mention of this on the website when we looked to book . There are few hotels which offer pool/spa in Welly but the Bolton is one, so we specifically booked the Hotel for this reason, so to arrive an find they were both a no go area was HUGELY disappointing.

Please -- if you offer such facilities they should be available at all times, or at least place a pre warning on your website. We could easily of gone another weekend.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear/side of the hotel overlooking the cemetery -- quite neighbours are always a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyhoundJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you for your excellent review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I apologise for our pool area being closed for maintenance. I am not sure what happened here. We normally notify our guests before arrival of such circumstances and we have slipped up, I will be taking this up at our management team.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
1.5 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
1.7 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,540 - ₹ 15,309
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing