We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms, comfy bed, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, comfy bed, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Bolton is positioned on the edge of the City in the CBD, handy for the train/bus station and a short walk from Parliament.

However it is the opposite end of the city from the main shopping area and Courtenay Place, where you find most of the theatres, cinemas, night clubs and restaurants. So a short bus/taxi ride is required, or if your up for it a brisk 15/20 min walk.

Although we live not to far from Welly up on the Kapiti coast we decided to treat ourselves to a weekend in Welly and make the most of the winter break offers which were floating about at the time.

The hotel is lovely inside, the rooms are fresh,clean and modern, beds are really comfy and a generous size ( very important when Hubby is 6ft 6). Staff are very helpful and polite.
The coffee shop downstairs is very popular with local office staff in the area, so if your there on a weekday it can be VERY busy, but don't let that put you off they do very good coffee an you must try one of the macrons. The restaurant is small but adequate and the staff very attentive. Breakfast service was brilliant, however we did lunch there on the saturday an service was VERY slow for which we could see no excuse as there were only 3 couples in there at the time.

The biggest disappoint for us was they had shut the pool and spa for maintenance - yet there was no mention of this on the website when we looked to book . There are few hotels which offer pool/spa in Welly but the Bolton is one, so we specifically booked the Hotel for this reason, so to arrive an find they were both a no go area was HUGELY disappointing.

Please -- if you offer such facilities they should be available at all times, or at least place a pre warning on your website. We could easily of gone another weekend.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear/side of the hotel overlooking the cemetery -- quite neighbours are always a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyhoundJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you for your excellent review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I apologise for our pool area being closed for maintenance. I am not sure what happened here. We normally notify our guests before arrival of such circumstances and we have slipped up, I will be taking this up at our management team.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    417
    126
    31
    7
See reviews for
201
682
67
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I visited Wellington for business and added a couple of days at the end of our stay. For the begining of our stay we booked the Intercontinental and decided to try the Bolton for our vacation days. While we were underwhelmed by everything that the Intercontinental had to offer, we were quite surprised by how good the Bolton was. Unfortunately my husband got quite sick during our stay and we had to extend our stay as he was unable to travel home as scheduled, the front desk staff, the concierge, the room cleaning staff were all friendly and accomodating. They put up with our numerous requests, helped us schedule doctor appointments, arranged for transport, they were absolutely amazing. Having a room with a kitchen was perfect, and could have not worked out better since we were not able to go out for meals etc. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to "downtown" and restaurants, shops, etc. It's also quite close to a supermarket. Internet access was good and included in the room rate. While there is not a business center in the hotel, they do allow use of their computer in the lobby for printing of documents. On our next visit to Wellington, I would not consider staying anywhere else and neither should you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolitatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you for your excellent review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. In particular I was particularly pleased and delighted to read how well our staff had attended to your needs.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Lying here on the third of our three night stay at the Bolton Hotel browsing the previous reviews I couldnt help but ask my husband if there were perhaps two Bolton Hotels in Wellington. Quick address check ...no, there is only one ...and we're in it.

The positives. Its a convenient location - although a long walking distance (in Wellingtons wind) to the real touristy hub bub part of town. It was great for the rugby on Saturday night. It's quiet'ish, warm, clean and comfortable.

The negatives. I dont have any. Just confusion. It's comfortable but its by no means five star. We have a one bedroom apartment style - first tier of room that comes with a bath. We are on the 13th floor and our view is of office desks in the surrounding office blocks. The lounge furnishings are those stiff, green velour couches you recall from your dentist visits as a kid. The restaurant / bar is nice (conservatory style cane furniture with little ambience) and the staff are friendly. The Duty Manager who appears to have been on shift since our arrival could help things along with a more warm, welcoming, smiling demeanour ....as he appears to take centre stage at the front desk.

Overall, a warm, comfortable but forgettable stay. For what we've paid ($333 per night) ...I was expecting the boutique hotel experience the website promises.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NZ_SandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This is a superbly located hotel in Wellington. Well appointed and comfortable rooms, good food and great service. The coffee shop downstairs is a favourite spot for business meetings. Sometimes it is understaffed, but well worth the wait.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SukiHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I recently spent a week at the Bolton on a conference/workshop - not only was I staying there, but I spent the majority of the week in the on-site meeting rooms. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful - always professional but willing to pause for a chat or to share a piece of news as well, which made me feel much more at home.

The meeting rooms were spacious and versatile and the chairs very comfortable - which is important when you spend most of a week sitting on them! My room was lovely with everything I needed, the bed was comfortable and the facilities maintained to a very high standard.

As a vegan I was treated with respect by the catering staff and they provided a wide variety of tasty, interesting food for me during my stay.

My only small gripe was that the gym was rather small, and tended to be a bit overcrowded once there were four or more people trying to use it at once.

I can highly recommend the Bolton to anyone seeking high quality Wellington accommodation close to the CBD.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you for review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. Our chefs enjoy meeting our guests requirements and special requests and I was pleased to see our restaurant had taken care of your dietary requirements.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.5 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
1.8 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,139 - ₹ 16,324
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing