We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
15
23
32
37
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
23
32
37
89
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Went to other hostels in town where the reception area looks fabulous but then there was not really any atmosphere. I stayed in a 6 persons room which shocked me a bit as soon as I got into the room, because it just fitted the beds (and I am NOT claustrophobic! ), windows were about to get smashed and beds were shaking because of the wind (6th floor but still ! ), very noisy at night due to local bars/clubs.

At Wild Zebra I stayed in a 14 persons room for the very first time and I can guarantee you !!!

- big room with enough place to leave your backpack next to or under your bed
- comfortable beds who don't make noise every time you turn around
- of course rooms can be smelly, backpackers unpack their walking clothes and
shoes, ... if this is the case, of course it's always easy to start complaining, just lift
your *ss and open the window for a little while??!
- people were respectfull and came in the room in silence at night
- did not wake up from noise outside (wind, people, bars, etc ... )
- place is surveillanced with cameras all over the place, so feel very safe

- free wifi is definitely a big plus !
- ping pong table is very popular
- vending machines
- free food shelf
- there is also a suggestion box at the reception
- location is awesome! close to everything: beach, museum, clubs, harbour, markets,
you name it !!

Sure the place could use some upgrades in a few areas, (so do the other hostels!) but it looks like they are really making an effort to give their guests a nice stay/experience and I would definitely like to stay here again when I am in Wellington !

For me it is the PEOPLE who can make you stay/holiday/experience memorable !

"The problem is not the problem"
"The problem is YOUR ATTITUDE about the problem"

Nathalie De Grande (Belgium)

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie12111987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

Photos on website are old. Place is run down and example is on entering their window has massive Crack ..not good look.
We stayed level 5 and had 5 beds but shared bathroom which was ok just needs freshner in there.
The room was big nice n warm to my surprise. Only noise was early morning rubbish trucks. No noise from drunken ppl or any parties.
Overall you get what you pay for.
Kitchen was run down no entertainment and they charge $20 for tabletennis paddles.
I definitely wouldn't stay here again but to traveller on budget great location with many pubs nightclubs and restaurants or food shops around.
Good for travellers not for families so your best book another place for kids and save extra dollars.
We paid $160 nite plus $20 bond for key to get into our room.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Marj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Do not under any circumstances stay here. It is disgusting. There were even street people and gang members staying here. This is more like somewhere you might stay in a third world country. Worst backpackers ever!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank projectilereptile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

Cheap accommodation with 'real' friendly travellers. Big living and kitchen area, ping pong table.

Unkempt not so clean. Looks like they haven't done any maintenance on the place in years. But if your not a princess it is fine! No issue.

Really close to the main streets for shopping eating and drinking.

I had a good time there! If your in Wellington to be social and have a good time and you are on a budget this seems the place to be!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Pippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

The whole place was unclean and unsafe. We booked a double standard room with private bathroom and this was not clean. Bathroom was just given a quick wipe down and the curtains had white substances all over them. The lights were flickering on and off and the floor had not been cleaned. The beds we booked in the dorm room was covered in wet washing and had been smoked in as well as drugs being consumed. Be careful as you do not get a refund back and you should as they are not that much cheaper then many nicer places but their accommodation is not up to standards at all.

Room Tip: don't choose here
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerereA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews