We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Zebra Backpackers
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Do not under any circumstances stay here. It is disgusting. There were even street people and gang members staying here. This is more like somewhere you might stay in a third world country. Worst backpackers ever!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank projectilereptile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

Cheap accommodation with 'real' friendly travellers. Big living and kitchen area, ping pong table.

Unkempt not so clean. Looks like they haven't done any maintenance on the place in years. But if your not a princess it is fine! No issue.

Really close to the main streets for shopping eating and drinking.

I had a good time there! If your in Wellington to be social and have a good time and you are on a budget this seems the place to be!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Pippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

The whole place was unclean and unsafe. We booked a double standard room with private bathroom and this was not clean. Bathroom was just given a quick wipe down and the curtains had white substances all over them. The lights were flickering on and off and the floor had not been cleaned. The beds we booked in the dorm room was covered in wet washing and had been smoked in as well as drugs being consumed. Be careful as you do not get a refund back and you should as they are not that much cheaper then many nicer places but their accommodation is not up to standards at all.

Room Tip: don't choose here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerereA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

So I was on a budget travel around NZ, and had to book a hostel. This was basically the only one with rooms left, and quite central.

When we arrived, there was a junkie sleeping in the reception. No staff were present. We walked to the first floor, and we actually thought the building was abandoned. Then a guest walked past us, and happen to know a phone number, for a staff member.

We were then shown to a big dorm, with more than 10 beds, even though we ordered 4 bed dorm. We got a new one then, after 2 minutes discussion.

The room we got was dirty, had stains on the floor/walls etc. The showers were absolutely filthy, and it was difficult to find a toilet which was usable. So gross.

Furthermore, as a firefighter, I would say this hostel is a death trap. Fire exits are blocked, fire equipment expired, emergency lights out of order.

If I can choose between a park-bench and this hostel, the next time I am in Wellington, I'd rather choose the bench.

For gods sake, never go here!

(From a traveller with more than 40 countries on his resumé, used to dirty hostels and private homes in rural villages of Nepal.)

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Quitzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildZebraManagement, General Manager at Wild Zebra Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Guest,

According to our records, you stayed at our hostel in November 2014. We acquired the business in October 2014 and at that time of your stay, we were in the midst of renovations, bring the building up to standard and trying responsible and reliable staff. We sincerely apologize for your experience and would like to offer you a free stay the next time you are in Wellington.

Wild Zebra Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Okay well, if you like the following qualities, you should certainly consider staying here:

- Paying for a room and not being able to sleep due to noise.
- Toilets which seem perpetually dirty. Urine everywhere, doors which cannot lock, urinals out of order, lack of toilet paper.
- Finding vomit in the sink basin 24 hours after the party.
- No atmosphere, unless you count that created by drunken football chants.
- Being turned down 'Work for Accomodation' positions because you're not female.
- Staff members who allow all these things to be!

On the plus side, if you're French and enjoy perpetuating the image of only speaking French with other French people, you'll find a thriving community of likeminded individuals here!

Room Tip: As far from the 4th floor common room as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MonkDeLaFunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
694 reviews
0.3 km away
The Setup on Dixon
The Setup on Dixon
#18 of 54 in Wellington
500 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#16 of 54 in Wellington
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#1 of 54 in Wellington
267 reviews
0.8 km away
Trek Global
Trek Global
#10 of 54 in Wellington
274 reviews
0.2 km away
Base Wellington Backpackers
Base Wellington Backpackers
#20 of 54 in Wellington
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Zebra Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Zebra Backpackers

Address: 58 Tory Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Wellywood Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 1,028 - ₹ 3,985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wild Zebra Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Wild Zebra Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellywood Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing