We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
15
23
32
37
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
23
32
37
89
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

Cheap accommodation with 'real' friendly travellers. Big living and kitchen area, ping pong table.

Unkempt not so clean. Looks like they haven't done any maintenance on the place in years. But if your not a princess it is fine! No issue.

Really close to the main streets for shopping eating and drinking.

I had a good time there! If your in Wellington to be social and have a good time and you are on a budget this seems the place to be!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Pippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

The whole place was unclean and unsafe. We booked a double standard room with private bathroom and this was not clean. Bathroom was just given a quick wipe down and the curtains had white substances all over them. The lights were flickering on and off and the floor had not been cleaned. The beds we booked in the dorm room was covered in wet washing and had been smoked in as well as drugs being consumed. Be careful as you do not get a refund back and you should as they are not that much cheaper then many nicer places but their accommodation is not up to standards at all.

Room Tip: don't choose here
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerereA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

So I was on a budget travel around NZ, and had to book a hostel. This was basically the only one with rooms left, and quite central.

When we arrived, there was a junkie sleeping in the reception. No staff were present. We walked to the first floor, and we actually thought the building was abandoned. Then a guest walked past us, and happen to know a phone number, for a staff member.

We were then shown to a big dorm, with more than 10 beds, even though we ordered 4 bed dorm. We got a new one then, after 2 minutes discussion.

The room we got was dirty, had stains on the floor/walls etc. The showers were absolutely filthy, and it was difficult to find a toilet which was usable. So gross.

Furthermore, as a firefighter, I would say this hostel is a death trap. Fire exits are blocked, fire equipment expired, emergency lights out of order.

If I can choose between a park-bench and this hostel, the next time I am in Wellington, I'd rather choose the bench.

For gods sake, never go here!

(From a traveller with more than 40 countries on his resumé, used to dirty hostels and private homes in rural villages of Nepal.)

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Period.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Quitzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildZebraManagement, General Manager at Wild Zebra Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Guest,

According to our records, you stayed at our hostel in November 2014. We acquired the business in October 2014 and at that time of your stay, we were in the midst of renovations, bring the building up to standard and trying responsible and reliable staff. We sincerely apologize for your experience and would like to offer you a free stay the next time you are in Wellington.

Wild Zebra Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Okay well, if you like the following qualities, you should certainly consider staying here:

- Paying for a room and not being able to sleep due to noise.
- Toilets which seem perpetually dirty. Urine everywhere, doors which cannot lock, urinals out of order, lack of toilet paper.
- Finding vomit in the sink basin 24 hours after the party.
- No atmosphere, unless you count that created by drunken football chants.
- Being turned down 'Work for Accomodation' positions because you're not female.
- Staff members who allow all these things to be!

On the plus side, if you're French and enjoy perpetuating the image of only speaking French with other French people, you'll find a thriving community of likeminded individuals here!

Room Tip: As far from the 4th floor common room as possible!
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MonkDeLaFunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Dorm rooms were ok but kitchen/lounge area was dirty and untidy, alcohol bottles and empty takeaway food boxes everywhere. I stayed here 3 nights and they did not clean the bathroom a single time when I've been here. Disgusting!
(I'm really not a fussy person, but that's a no go!)

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank MarieSchlinkmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews