We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to the center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel. Friendly and helpful people. We could walk to Te Papa, cable tram and the park. Hotel is in a nice neighbourhood were you can go for a walk up to the hill. We have had a nice meal in the pub. And 10 minutes to drive to the ferry to Picton. Greetings from The Netherlands..

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice traditional hotel, above pub for several years as we understood.
In a very good area, the walking distance to the city center is quite big but worth it in order to get to see the city.
The bathroom was a bit neglected, there was mold and dirt that can be eliminated only with restoration (meaning that is was not dirty due to lack of cleaning but due to oldness).
Nice beds.

Room Tip: Nice but nothing particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Na C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The tv was outdated and didn't work. The room was a little bit to old fashioned for me, the floors were very creaky and being the night owl that I am I was worried I was going to wake people up but it was nice I was near everything I needed to be and the bed was very comfy the staff were amazing and the food in the pub was fantastic

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

A workmate took me to the Shepherds Arms last year and have been a regular ever since. The food is way above average for a pub meal and I understand they have an award winning chef to thank for that. There is a excellent range on the blackboard specials and I have yet to be disappointed with anything I have had here. Had the fish of the day tonight and it wouldn’t disgrace something served at a top restaurant at double the price. Great service from Hannah as well. Best pub meal in Wellington? Well I have yet to find one better. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank bridger12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Stayed here at the start of our honeymoon in New Zealand in the King Suite. The room was big and spacious (a little dated, but lovely). Bed was actually a king bed too, and not two mattresses push together which was lovely. Nice and quiet too as street was only busy during day and bar closes at a decent hour.
Bathroom was large but had mould around tub/shower (who puts wood panelling around a bathtub and shower?) as well as toilet roll holder falling out of wall...But the water pressure was great, even if the shower curtain didn't protect the floor completely from the pressure...
The lights in the main room hung VERY low, I could touch them if I barely extended my arm. Husband accidentally broke one when he tripped on the couch and his ring collided with the shade. We both hit them more than once getting dressed as well.
Windows were hard to open as they had old lock things that needed to pushed in whilst also holding up the heavy window.
However, there was a free laundry in the main building which was FANTASTIC and they offer a light continental breakfast too which was a nice surprise.
Overall, it was an okay stay, but lots of little things were quite worrisome.

Room Tip: Had a king suite which was in a different building with only one other room, SUPER private and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 172graces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
2.2 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
1.4 km away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#29 of 47 in Wellington
537 reviews
0.8 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
2.3 km away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#10 of 47 in Wellington
420 reviews
7.1 km away
Best Western Wellington
Best Western Wellington
#25 of 47 in Wellington
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherds Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherds Arms Hotel

Address: 285 Tinakori Road, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 4,123 - ₹ 5,927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shepherds Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shepherds Arms Hotel & Speight's Ale House is a Boutique Hotel offering a warm and friendly stay in Wellingtons oldest historical village. Close to all Ferries, Train Station, Botanic Gardens, Parliament, Katherine Mansfield House, Cable Car and Wellingtons vibrant night life. A full restaurant and Bar is available downstairs offering great Kiwi hospitality with fantastic meals and the best range of quality NZ Beers. Free car parking, internet, laundry is also available. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shepherds Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing