We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quiet but no free wifi”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Is located really close to lambton quay and there are lots of good eateries in the area. Aslo the room was really quiet. Breakfast was included in our deal which was good, Only downside was no free wi-fi

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank milyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 2,237 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is about a ten minute walk from the station - straight up Featherstone St so no problem finding it if you arrive as the sports stadium next to the station is emptying as we did! The taxi driver said we would be quicker walking and we were - and I am definitely not a fan of walking with luggage but it really is only 10 minutes. The location is great and within easy walking distance of the museum, city centre shops and the harbour front. There's also a taxi rank outside. Breakfast was good with a good selection - no complaints there. The Airport Flyer bus (No.91) is a four or five minute walk from the hotel on Lambton Quay so you will save quite a bit on a taxi fare to the Airport - and it only took 20 mins (at 7am in the morning). Room was comfortable but the quilt only filled the quilt cover to the edge of the bed. The rest hanging down the side of the bed was just the cover so it was a bit cold if you rolled onto the edge of the bed! Also the water came out of the bathroom unless you angled the shower head straight down - the shower curtain was a bit short and the floor a bit uneven. The shower was great though - note for management room 502 - sorry forgot to mention it when we checked out.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MayfieldGOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Minimalist accommodation with all essentials provided: Coffee/tea/ kettle, iron/ironing board/ TV (with movie selections: standard and adult categories)/ great WiFi speed/ alarm clock / easy to reach light switches from beds/air-con/ shower facilities. My bathroom experience had been spoiled to some extent, because a previous guest must have been smoking there - I reported this to management which emphasized their non-smoking policy. (Hence my "Cleanliness" rating as Very Good, instead of Excellent). Breakfast and lunch was available - a bit too expensive for my liking, but this is a very subjective comment. Overall this property is value for money, very recommendable and I have stayed here before, as well as in the Ibis in Brisbane.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I booked and pre-paid for this hotel earlier this year for a 2 nights stay in mid October, but after 1 night I moved to a different hotel as I was so disappointed in the room I was given.(something I have never done before) I have stayed in Ibis hotels in London before and have been very pleased with their standard, but this was very different. Although the bed was quite comfortable the bathroom was extremely cramped and there was a very old, dirty, unlocked metal framed door which led onto an upper floor balcony. Being a single female traveller this did not make me feel safe. Corridors were quite dark and rather like a hostel. Staff in general were pleasant although service in the restaurant wasn't very good.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We stayed one night during a storm and had a room (712) overlooking the atrium, which meant we didn’t hear a thing and had a great nights sleep. The only negative was the size of the shower. The breakfast at $1 per head, if hotel is booked on the internet was excellent. In addition the location was excellent being close to wharf and Courtney Place restaurants. The overnight parking at $25 is good, but parking outside to arrange this parking under the hotel is impossible.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 km away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,070 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,939 reviews
0.2 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,842 reviews
0.2 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 5,074 - ₹ 10,957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and ACCOR so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing