We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital View Motor Inn
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was our second three night stay at this motor inn and we would definitely be happy to return for a third. The view from the top and second to top floors is wonderful. The room is spacious and comfortable but since it is set up as a unit where you can cook your own meals, it could have done with a few more basic kitchen items i.e. microwaveable bowl and a cutting board. There is good safe off-street parking, the location is ideal and one can walk down Cuba Street,past numerous cafes and restaurants, to Cuba Mall in quick time.The manager is friendly and obliging; he was happy to handle our request to accommodate an extra visitor who came to stay with us for a couple of nights. The complimentary morning paper was appreciated too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces the harbour; the view is great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 200 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

An unexpectedly warm welcome awaited us at Capital View Motor Inn and we immediately felt like part of their Family! Our room was spotless and remarkably spacious and the handy lift nearby made light work of transporting our suitcases to our room. Although it would have been good to have had some modest cooking facilities, Wellington is so full of cafes and restaurants that it's easy to indulge and let others take the strain instead! A microwave was definitely a worthwhile addition, however.
Partly because of the one-way system and the fairly busy road system nearby, access to the Inn was a bit daunting initially, but became pretty straightforward once we were familiar with the set-up and getting out of town was really easy from this location!
As Brits visiting our own family, living in Wellington, we found a very comfortable base to meet everyone and we certainly enjoyed the "extra mile" that Capital View Motor Inn went, to make our stay highly memorable...

Room Tip: The owners were extremely approachable and friendly, so we would suggest that you contact them direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnaroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

5th floor apartment, 5 weary cyclists, 5 star service !! This place is fantastic, and with the manager being so obliging also, I think I would come back again ! If you want great location, easy access, free parking, handy to restaurants, excellent value and amazing views then come here and stay !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliot749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We arrived late at night and it was a pleasant surprise to arrive at Capital View Motor Inn and find our accommodation so clean, cosy and spacious. We hope to stay longer next time.

It is very convenient and close to Cuba Street where there are lots of nice cafe's.

Our hosts were friendly and helpful.

Carmel & Eric - Western Australia

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmelPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at Capital View Motor Inn in Wellington for 2-nights in March during a tour of New Zealand. We had booked a queen-bedded apartment on the internet a number of months in advance of our visit. On arrival we met Mark in reception who checked us into room 33 on the 4th floor and gave us maps of the city and a carton of fresh milk which is a nice touch.

The apartment was on a corner of the building and had views across the city to the bay which would have been stunning if we could have seen them. Unfortunately (and this obviously has nothing to do with the accommodation), the weather was dreadful while we were there - heavy squally rain and severe wind for the entire 2-days, including the day of our ferry trip over to Picton. Wellington is renown for being one of the most windy cities in New Zealand and also often wet so make sure waterproofs and warm clothes are packed.

The Motel is in an excellent position, being only a few minutes walk to Cuba Street with its restaurants and individual shops and only about 15-20 minute walk to the centre of the city (Te Papa museum on Cable Street and the cable car on Lambton Quay).

However, as another TA Reviewer commented, we have mixed feelings about the accommodation. The apartment was of a good size with a queen-bedded bedroom, separate living room with twin beds, a small sofa, dining table and chairs. There was a large fully equipped separate kitchen (with tea and coffee supplies, toaster, kettle etc.) and off of that a bathroom with shower and separate toilet. The downside to this fairly spacious accommodation is that it is very dated with old carpet and grubby sofa. The kitchen has seen better days and the blind cord was missing so it could not be pulled down at night.

However, the apartment was cleaned each day and a good supply of fresh towels supplied along with toiletries. I gather that other rooms in the motel have been renovated so my advice would be to ask for a renovated room on the 4th or 5th floor for the amazing views (when sunny!). Being on the 4th floor meant that there was little road noise at night although the wind howled around the building and it was a bit draughty as it was not double glazed (advantage is that the windows open for fresh air - we did not need this on our visit!).

One of my ‘bugbears’ about motels and hotels is a charge for internet access. Here you will be given an access code which allows 50MB of free access, just about enough to check emails and surf a bit. The connection kept timing out at busy times of the day but with perseverance it did eventually work. The charges rise steeply to $10 for over 50MB up to 100MB.

Mark is really friendly and helpful and takes time to answer questions and there is free parking on site which is a bonus in the middle of a city. All in all, an excellent located motel at a good price for a capital city but, make sure you ask for a room that has been renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on the 4th or 5th floor for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaDurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
2.1 km away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#31 of 47 in Wellington
153 reviews
1 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 47 in Wellington
647 reviews
1.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,235 reviews
0.8 km away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#29 of 47 in Wellington
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Motor Inn

Address: 12 Thompson Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#18 Business Hotel in Wellington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 5,338 - ₹ 10,498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capital View Motor Inn enjoys stunning views over majestic Wellington city and the harbour and offers an ideal base for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Capital View Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital View Motor Hotel Wellington
Capital View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing