We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a break, did not find one.”
Review of YHA Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Looking for a break, did not find one.”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I came here after spending weeks in various packed hostel dorms around new Zealand and decided to splurge and get a single room for some much needed privacy. I did not get privacy here. What I did get was a room that had the owhole kitchen staring into it and paper thin walls that allowed me to hear even the more intimate conversations of my neighbours.

Would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    245
    78
    16
    7
See reviews for
50
145
210
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This YHA is in a great location and is very clean. Almost feels like staying in a hotel but for a much better price. The room was clean and spacious. I never had to wait to use the shower or the toilets. The laundry was easy to use and they supply the laundry soap for free.
There is a grocery store right across the street that is open for 7am-midnight everyday.
It's easy to walk to everything from here. And there are city buses right near by to get to the train/bus station and the airport.
Highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM2_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Thankfully I was only staying here one night, although perhaps if my stay was longer it may have changed my mind...

The room was very basic with really old bunk beds that were a bit broken and very uncomfortable... plus when the person below you moved you felt every motion. I stayed in a 4 bed ensuite and the bathroom was pure metal which I found a bit strange... It served its purpose though.

The staff were okay, they didn't seem too enthused, but did help with my query of getting to the ferry terminal the next morning.

They had a good computer room with lots of very new looking computers - maybe they should have bought some new beds along with them though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Coast, Nsw
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The location of the hostel is great, it is just a short walk to Cuba street and other great sites in Wellington. The rooms are clean and well designed, I was in a mixed 6 person dorm and had a great time. The kitchen facilities are well developed and set up to cater for large crowds. The bathroom facilities were very clean and well maintained throughout the day. The top floor laundry room has an amazing view out over the harbor.
We didn't sleep too well some nights, but that was due to a large group of school children that were staying there on a school excursion. But it made for a different experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittyc711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Generally very good, but service during this years fringe festival was appalling. One staff member, Becky was quite happy to send this kiwi out the door on crutches, despite having booked for both nights. No one told me I had to pay for the second night in advance, and only when I asked to see the management (which did not happen) did a bed suddenly become available. I have three more weeks on crutches and been staying in Wellington at the YHA since I was a boy. If you can't hire kiwis YHA please hire staff with a kiwi can do attitude

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temporarilycrippled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.2 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
0.3 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.1 km away
No photo provided
1.7 km away
No photo provided
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wellington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Property: YHA Wellington
Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,547 - ₹ 4,642
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing