We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and friendly”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Staff are friendly, I really can't understand why one has to pay for a flat white! Gym ok. Breakfast has a very good variety. Great location. Yes, I would probably stay again and I have stayed at lots of hotels in Wellington.

Room Tip: Harbour views if you are going to be in your room during the daytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jen101Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi jen101Auckland, Thank you for thank you for the review, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 2,112 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

Another disappointing stay at a Novotel hotel. It seems that lately, the guys at what used to be a fine chain with a consistent quality service, fail to deliver on their main objective: hospitality. After a smooth check-in I was directed to a cranky lift that took my to a level 9 room. My room was ok, but without the usual curtesy bottle of water that I get as a silver Accor. Instead, I had a note asking me to call reception for a “special treat”. I did as I was asked, and some 30 min later a delivery of poorly taste chocolate cake was sent to my room. No sign of water, or of a working internet connection. I had to go down to reception to ask them to fix the problem, but they insisted that there was no problem. Sure enough, when I went back to the room all communications were down, including wifi and the tv. Another call resulted in reception restating all the network, and at 10pm I was finally able to connect to the world.
The shower was ok, but the towels were tiny and smelled bed. After a fairly good night sleep I went downstairs to have some breakfast. In line with my previous experiences at Novotel, the selection of food was decent, but none of the dishes had any taste. The next morning I decided to go outside to have breakfast at a café.
While I was out for business, my room, again – as happened during most of my recent stays with Novotel, wasn’t sorted or cleaned. At 8pm I called reception and asked for some fresh towels etc, and was assured that they will be brought upstairs immediately. I’m still waiting for these towels.
Excellent location, and decent service. But I had enough with this lack of attention to details and poor housekeeping.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Np-ln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Hi Np-ln, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay, it is disappointed to read that we did not live up to the high expectations we set for ourselves here at Novotel Wellington, as an accor member your feedback is extremely valuable. Please email at h3276-fo1@accor.com if you would like to discuss further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Right in the heart of Wellington close to business restaurants and shops. Service is top notch staff could not do enough for you. Breakfast is fantastic plenty of choice and fresh. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi Ian, Thank you for the review, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stayed here for our girlie weekend recently, we have stayed here for the same reason a couple of years ago. Nice clean rooms, sadly they don't provide slippers, this would be an added touch, the beds are super comfortable if you like a soft bed. Staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay very easy. The location of the hotel makes for easy walking to the waterfront and all the necessary shopping places that a girl could want. Breakfast could be improved, for a four star hotel the options were very basic and not very international. The coffee that comes with the breakfast (out of a machine that is self-serve is not good).

Room Tip: Room 816 and guess 916 has ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwikessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Hi kiwikessler, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, we appreciate your feedback and will take your comments regarding the breakfast on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms clean and the beds comfortable. The location was central and had elevator access to Lambton Quay, which made for easy access to shopping,eating and a stroll along the waterfront .

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sand809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Sand809, Thank you for the feedback, i am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#15 of 47 in Wellington
2,278 reviews
0.5 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,452 reviews
0 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 8,101 - ₹ 19,313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing