We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here several times, and always found it very good. The staff are always pleasant and helpful and the rooms are always clean, comfortable and have everything you need. The location is good.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 76 of 3,200 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Convenient lift that takes you straight to the city centre and handy to shops. LOVED having the use of the Club Lounge which we made the most of and enjoyed the view. Staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michelleU8856DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCookHotel, Communications Executive at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your five star review on TripAdvisor. As an Executive Club Lounge guest, we are pleased you were able to make the most of the 26th floor lounge and enjoyed the harbour views.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Wellington.

Kind regards,

The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lifts being repaired, but notification was on their web site. We had a room facing The Terrace, and found it to be adequate for a two night stay, but rather tired. It was noisy from road traffic, but if you closed the window and put on the air con, that too was noisy. So not a peaceful sleep. The bathroom especially needs an update. The tiles around the bath need changing, they were cracked and dirty in the corners. For a 4 star hotel it was surprising that they used cheap plastic towel holders and toilet roll holders. The shower over the bath was again very old and there was no instruction on how to use it. We were unable to have a room with just a shower. They need to have some “wet rooms”. For a room that caters for three people they only had one small body wash, shampoo etc. Normally rooms we have stayed in have a minimum of two of these, one for each person. The mattresses were not of good quality, apart from them being noisy you could feel the springs and we had a sagging on both sides, so we used the other bed in the room the second night. It was exactly the same. So it was one each and therefore more cost to the hotel as it was twice the washing. There was no safe in the room, for those on tours, it is essential. That is the first time we have stayed in a hotel of 3* or above that did not have a safe. The Sojourn restaurant is not open for breakfast at weekends. The website does not mention this.
The Hotel information book is lacking in substance. It would be appropriate to offer guests a map of Wellington CBD when checking in. There is nothing to say how to use the TV, the telephone or the shower.
The cleaning staff woke us up at just after 7am vacuuming the rooms close by on the second day. Check out was slow, only one staff member working.
In conclusion we think the Hotel is overpriced for the standard of rooms and service. $300+ a night room only. Oh, and if you have a car, they charge for parking.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skylarkGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCookHotel, Communications Executive at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed overview of your recent experience and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay .

The Terrace Room is our entry level room type, featuring two double beds. This suits guests sharing a room however we do have alternative room types available when booking, such as our Lambton King Room.

Please note, your review has been shared in our daily management meeting and the team appreciated your specific feedback.

We do hope you were able to make the most of our central Wellington location and overall had a positive experience in the city.

Kind regards,

The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Central and efficient.
I have stayed here several times. Great to be close to the city shops downstairs, and easy vehicle access upstairs. The cafe/bar and seating area in the lobby are always attractive and convenient. Rooms are always clean and the staff are great.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deebeerees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent Hotel, extremely friendly staff who go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure customer
Comfort . Facilities are an extremely high standard. The Whitby restaurant was supper and staff were professional and friendly. We had help when needed.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank caraw384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,239 reviews
0.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.5 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,425 reviews
0 km away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 5,704 - ₹ 13,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. Lift Upgrade Schedule Please note, the hotel is currently replacing all elevators until later in 2018. The schedule has allowed at least one working elevator for each hotel wing throughout the duration of the upgrade. The lift access to Lambton Quay is currently serviced by one elevator. All floors will still be accessible by guests however please note that some delays may be expected during peak times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing