We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,558)
Filter reviews
3,558 results
Traveller rating
1,063
1,566
677
170
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,063
1,566
677
170
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslambton quaygreat locationvalet parkingcentral locationwould stay againbit datedcable carbuffet breakfastthe club loungeeasy accesspleasant staygood sizebusiness tripte papanew zealandliftmotorway
Filter
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 3,558 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Convenient lift that takes you straight to the city centre and handy to shops. LOVED having the use of the Club Lounge which we made the most of and enjoyed the view. Staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michelleU8856DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCookHotel, Communications Executive at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your five star review on TripAdvisor. As an Executive Club Lounge guest, we are pleased you were able to make the most of the 26th floor lounge and enjoyed the harbour views.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Wellington.

Kind regards,

The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Lifts being repaired, but notification was on their web site. We had a room facing The Terrace, and found it to be adequate for a two night stay, but rather tired. It was noisy from road traffic, but if you closed the window and put on the air con, that too was noisy. So not a peaceful sleep. The bathroom especially needs an update. The tiles around the bath need changing, they were cracked and dirty in the corners. For a 4 star hotel it was surprising that they used cheap plastic towel holders and toilet roll holders. The shower over the bath was again very old and there was no instruction on how to use it. We were unable to have a room with just a shower. They need to have some “wet rooms”. For a room that caters for three people they only had one small body wash, shampoo etc. Normally rooms we have stayed in have a minimum of two of these, one for each person. The mattresses were not of good quality, apart from them being noisy you could feel the springs and we had a sagging on both sides, so we used the other bed in the room the second night. It was exactly the same. So it was one each and therefore more cost to the hotel as it was twice the washing. There was no safe in the room, for those on tours, it is essential. That is the first time we have stayed in a hotel of 3* or above that did not have a safe. The Sojourn restaurant is not open for breakfast at weekends. The website does not mention this.
The Hotel information book is lacking in substance. It would be appropriate to offer guests a map of Wellington CBD when checking in. There is nothing to say how to use the TV, the telephone or the shower.
The cleaning staff woke us up at just after 7am vacuuming the rooms close by on the second day. Check out was slow, only one staff member working.
In conclusion we think the Hotel is overpriced for the standard of rooms and service. $300+ a night room only. Oh, and if you have a car, they charge for parking.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skylarkGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCookHotel, Communications Executive at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed overview of your recent experience and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay .

The Terrace Room is our entry level room type, featuring two double beds. This suits guests sharing a room however we do have alternative room types available when booking, such as our Lambton King Room.

Please note, your review has been shared in our daily management meeting and the team appreciated your specific feedback.

We do hope you were able to make the most of our central Wellington location and overall had a positive experience in the city.

Kind regards,

The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Central and efficient.
I have stayed here several times. Great to be close to the city shops downstairs, and easy vehicle access upstairs. The cafe/bar and seating area in the lobby are always attractive and convenient. Rooms are always clean and the staff are great.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deebeerees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Excellent Hotel, extremely friendly staff who go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure customer
Comfort . Facilities are an extremely high standard. The Whitby restaurant was supper and staff were professional and friendly. We had help when needed.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank caraw384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

The James Cook Grand Chancellor is my home away from home whenever I am in Wellington. I would highly recommend this hotel to any one. Location is excellent and the staff are all very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jameswilliams2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews