We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wellington - July 2012 School holidays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Wellington - July 2012 School holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed with the Moments to Treasure deal in a superior plus room,
The room was beautifully furnished & decorated with very good quality black out curtains.
We were thrilled that the beds ( a king & a double) were in separate areas with the bathroom between.
Staff were very friendly & very helpful & we felt welcome in all areas of the hotel, bar & restaurant
.
The pool area could do with a bit of glamming up / refurbishment but I understand that is under way & painting was being done at the time.

I feel the hotel was in the perfect spot for being just out of the busy city & being a short walk to restaurants, museum etc & having a wonderful view of the harbour , being in a quieter area.

All in all I would definitely recommend to my friends & would choose to go again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jet6912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    578
    155
    39
    20
See reviews for
302
585
59
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Situated in Oriental Bay and sandwiched between the promenade and the hill, this tiny-looking hotel contains a huge restaurant, indoor pool and spacious hotel suites. Beautiful and luxurious, it has everything you need to make the stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the hill are quieter, but the view is across the road to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor and I could not have been more satisfied. It was in walking distance to all of the sights and the staff was very friendly. The price was reasonable and the rooms were extremely modern and clean. I had booked two rooms with wonderful views of the harbor. The food was excellent and the beds were a dream. I would not think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book a waterfront room, the cost is not very much more and so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had an absolutely awesome stay. Thanks to Ken Orr and his fabulous team. We could not fault the service and hospitality in any way. First class visit. Thank you :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I had a great deal through the Copthorne website - room was better than expected - tidy, modern, quiet, bed totally comfortable. I had the three bedroom apartment which came with a dishwasher and washing machine (even washing powder!). I could have easily stayed longer and will definately stay there again. Front house were very professional. Breakfast very nice and had dinner there also which was great - would recommend the Curry!! Only little issues were that the valet parking was expensive ($22.50) and took a long time to get my car (25mins!! I would recommend to just park across the road and pay the $1.50 per hour during working hours) and I took my kids to the pool which was being cleaned and was shut for an hour. I think that happens every morning. All in all, my favourite place in Wellington so far!

Room Tip: 3 bedroom apartment fits in 6 easily and are very spacious with 2 toilets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.4 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
1.8 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.4 km away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
0.7 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Property: Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,169 - ₹ 13,819
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Expedia so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing