We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little cottage with beautiful view”
Cottage Frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage Frontage
Island Bay Sunset Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cottage Frontage
Island Bay Sunset
Double Bedroom
Kitchen
Living Area
Single Bedroom
Bathroom
View from living room
Kitchen,Dining,Living Room Panorama
Courtyard and Bench Seat
Local Paua Shell (Abalone)
Entry Gate to Cottage
Local Kina shells
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Wellington, Greater Wellington, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BecLB
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage with beautiful view”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with our 4 year old for 2 nights. had everything we needed for the stay ... even a few supplies in the fridge. Lovely view, comfy beds and parkng out the front. Would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A little home away from home.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArabianRa...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a tour of the North Island. Main bedroom was large with a good sized comfortable bed and plenty of storage room. The smaller bedroom was fine for my teen but only has a curtain for privacy. The cottage is well equipped with all you need to self cater which is good as there is not much around in the way of restaurants or nightlife unless you go into Wellington. The weather was very wet and windy when we were there so we ventured out during the day to explore the wonderful coastline in the area and see Wellington but stayed inside in the evening.

The kitchen was seriously well stocked with breakfast provisions when we arrived so were able to make ourselves a meal from that as well as have breakfast for the 2 mornings we were there. Thank you, it was appreciated.

Great views from the cottage and on our first morning a wonderful rainbow out to sea had me mesmerised and my patience rewarded me with my first sighting of a whale spout - fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rantinrov...
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
929 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,012 helpful votes
“Practical alternative for self-drive tourists”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in November 2013
4
people found this review helpful

This holiday cottage or bach is located in a quiet residential suburb of Wellington and forms part of a row of houses overlooking the rocky shoreline, Taputeranga Island and the Cook Strait. There is street parking outside (a little inset from the road with no restrictions or costs). A bit further along the Esplanade there is a small park, a sandy shore and access to some shops.

The bus route passing the cottage (#32) was very infrequent in our experience and it was more practical to walk the short distance to the terminus at The Parade and catch the more regular #1 trolleybus into the city centre. It only costs a few dollars and takes about 35 minutes each way.

We made our reservation for a two night stay at $360 via email about 6 weeks in advance and it was fairly straightforward. Jonathan was originally looking to set up on TA to accept payment however in the end we settled in cash.

It wasn’t so straightforward finding the cottage upon arrival from the Interislander ferry terminal in darkness - we had a fairly rough crossing, didn’t have satnav and trying to read a roadmap in the circumstances wasn’t easy. I’d recommend being well prepared as there are a couple of places where it’s easy to get the wrong route - and we did! If arriving at night also have a torch handy to see the security keypad on the gate for entry.

The cottage has a few steps up to the door but is otherwise on one level. The open plan living area with kitchen is spacious and just off here is a small single bedroom, the compact bathroom and a decent sized double bedroom. The main bedroom and the living room face the street and shoreline and with some commuter traffic in the morning we did get traffic noise but in comparison to the city centre this would be minimal.

The kitchenette was well equipped for self catering and there was a small table with chairs. Our hosts had generously stocked the fridge and cupboard to the extent that my wife wasn’t sure if someone else had moved in to the place! In addition to various cereals, tea, coffee, bread and fruit, the fridge had bacon, eggs, milk, cheese, butter and a selection of condiments. There was also a bottle of sparkling wine however we were unsure if it was complementary and we didn’t use it.

We didn’t see Jonathan during our stay and thought it would have been handy to have had a brief guests guide in the cottage (e.g. bus timetable, confirmation re the bubbly, etc). Ultimately we telephoned on the day of departure to make arrangements for payment which was to be in cash - and it was us who appeared more concerned it seems than the trusting owners. There's mention of a safe in the property listing but we were not aware of one.

The double bed was comfortable (it even had an electric blanket) and there was plenty of storage space for clothes. It looked as if there was a child’s cot stored above the wardrobe if required. The bathroom only had a small basic walk-in shower with curtain but in the absence of a bath (no issue for us) there was a more practical use of space with a washing machine and dryer - handy to catch up on our extended travels! The bathroom floor was heated for comfort and elsewhere electric heaters were available which we did find necessary to use at the time of our visit. The living room had a large comfy settee, satellite television with multi-channels, DVD, CD player and internet access was available . We thought the cottage was also nicely decorated to provide a homely feel.

Overall it was a good base for a short stay in the Wellington area and being in a suburb of the city we almost felt like locals for a while. I’d happily stay longer if back in Wellington (although my wife is less enthusiastic about this style of accommodation - however that‘s just personal preference and not a reflection on Island Bay Cottage).

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Gave a local feel to our visit
Liked least: The shower was too basic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregHeppl...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Makes a business trip bearable”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Only 6-7km into the city, the Island Bay Cottage was an excellent choice for a short business trip into Wellington. After having suffered numerous inner-city hotels over the years, it was a refreshing change to be right next to the sea, in a clean and comfortable cottage. The provision of some deliciously chosen groceries was a great touch and very well appreciated - thanks Jonathon and Jetta. The second bedroom was a little on the small side, but I was aware of that when booking so I didn't mind. The view and seaside location, with some restaurants and the supermarket not far away made for a really good experience.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aussiekin...
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well equipped..great hosts”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Pauline and I loved our 3 week stay and were delighted to meet our hosts, Jonathan and Jetta. Sorry we didn't say farewell but we left in a storm!
The cottage was really well equipped and is a lovely stay
Thanks
Pauline and Peter King

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing