We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homegrown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My friends and I stayed 2 nights for the Homegrown concert in Wellington and the hotel was awesome, above our expectations. The rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable and the views from the decks were amazing. Rahul the Manager was professional, friendly and welcoming and Dillion went out of his way to help us. I would highly recommend the Distinction Wellington and would definitively stay again as it was central to Courtenay Place, restaurants and the waterfront. :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 367 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed at the above location as it was originally an Accor Hotel but changed hands in Distinctions Hotels. The Location was great in the nearby Restaurant Area with plenty to choose from. I walked to Mr Chow everyday to use their internet and coffee just across the road. The staff were very helpful and nothing was a bother with the minor problems we had. Whoever designed the rooms should take a good look at themselves however, I would prefer a lounge seat for two and small or no table to eat at instead a coffee table, not many people cook in their room but in saying that, there was a kitchen set up with basic utensils. The bed was good but the storage space is really a concern especially when staying for about a week and the noise from the street was a concern as with no A/C the window need to remain open.
The balcony could use a seating arrangement to enjoy the outside area, perhaps some Feng Shui could be used. The bathroom was useable however the use of glass made it seem a lot bigger than what it appeared. Would stay again but as a single only as two or more would be very COSY indeed.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms facing away from the Car Park but you must enjoy the local nightlife in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stcsgt54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

i loved my stay at Distinction, i have no idea what people are complaning about. the rooms have everything you need and are very clean. although my room was over looking a car park i didnt mind, we where only there to sleep. it was very central and clean. the front office staff where super helpful. i will be going back next time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larrissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Quiet, clean and comfortable stay. Staff were helpful and polite. Close to everything in Wellington, easy to get about in town. Hallways and rooms decor a little too modern but otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Wellington Century City Apartments was a huge disappointment. The carpets were soiled, as were the bedspreads and doona. There are no drawers to store clothing, no hooks to hang anything in either bedrooms or bathrooms. The furniture is very minimal in the lounge/kitchen. One small couch for an apartment that sleeps 4 is not enough, particularly after a day's sightseeing, a couple of comfortable chairs would have been welcome. The kitchen cupboards are too high to reach, as is the microwave. A stool or ladder should be provided. Only one redeeming feature is the modern glass table and modern bathroom with washing machine/dryer (no instruction book). Also no compendium in the apartment to help tourists with local activities, restaurants etc. Noisy and no flyscreens. The front desk staff were quite friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floor to escape street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kandrew_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.6 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,964 reviews
0.7 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,261 reviews
1.8 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,434 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 5,634 - ₹ 13,669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing