We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, Comfortable & Welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Suites
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central, Comfortable & Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

As a young adult visiting Tauranga, location, facilities and entertainment are very important. We found that City Suites had it all, our room was very comfortable and spacious. Cooking facilities & utensils, tv & dvd player and airconditioning were all put to good use and made the room and stay great. It was refreshing that they even had a nice little pool to cool off in. The staff were welcoming and inviting, from the staff at the front desk to the cleaners, everyone was very helpful and lovely to talk too. The huge comfortable bed was exactly what we needed after our night out on the town and as for location, its far away enough to feel like your not in the noisy city center but yet only a 5 minute walk. There is no need for a car as everything is close by in Tauranga township even the bus stop to cheaply take you to the mount or bayfair. Overall we enjoyed and loved our stay and would gladly stay at city suites again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    83
    26
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
120
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We booked the honeymoon suite for the night of our wedding, very dissappointed... No Minibar as stated...No welcome baskets, no chocolates on the pillows, room was not cleaned as you would expect, as for being quiet well the room is right on the front main road, so when a truck goes past, the whole room rumbles..
Breakky must be orderd the night before otherwise you dont get it!!!!!!!! what about the people that arrive late or that get married... GO HUNGRY..

Sadly a bad stay, and one i will not be repeating, at reception they didnt even ask as about our stay or how things where...and then even charged us $1.80 for ph calls..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

i felt very welcomed and was treated extreamly well, great service and a big smile and will point you in the right direction for all your needs

Room Tip: if there is room they will accomidate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

My Wife and I were visiting family for xmas in Tauranga.
To allow for more room in my sisters house we decided to stay in other accommodation for the duration of the holiday.
On a friends recommendation we made a booking at the City Suites, based on the fact that they had just been done up and were in a very central location.
We stayed for a total of 10 days and in that time could not fault them on the rooms, sevice, price and location.
The rooms while not over the top were neat, clean and comfortable.
The sevice was excellent, and as a previous reviewer wrote, " nothing was to much of a problem", from Shirley at the front desk to the ladies servicing the rooms we recieved happy smiles and a willingness to help out if asked, or privacy if required.
The location is excellent and my wife and I enjoyed a quick walk into town each morning for a coffee and breakfast.
The Suites also have secure underground parking.
As we are from Australia the price was always going to be on the right side, but when the conversion to NZ dollars is made it still seems to be worth the dollars paid.
Overall we would recommend the City Suites to anyone wanting a central place to stay when visiting Tauranga, and we would have no hesitation on staying there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

My company booked me into this motel and it was a good move. Room was spacious, clean and reasonably well appointed. A couple of downside points being the TV's which are disappointing - not tuned in and in need of upgrading. The fridges are old and don't keep the contents cold enough. Other than those 2 criticisms the place is a haven - quiet and restful.

The hosts make the place. They are so friendly and cannot do enough for you. Nothing is too much bother and they make you feel like you belong.

A really good place to stay and I would recommend the place every time to visitors to Tauranga.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinrbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.6 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
2.8 km away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 km away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.5 km away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Suites

Property: City Suites
Address: 32 Cameron Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Puriri Park Boutique Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tauranga
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#7 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,209 - ₹ 9,014
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Suites is Tauranga's newest accommodation option, right in the heart of the city. With only a 5 minute walk to the CBD, or a 10 minute drive to the beaches of Mount Maunganui, City Suites has all you could want, whether you are traveling for business or fancy a weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Suites Tauranga, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing