We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
473
101
13
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
101
13
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathlake taupolake viewrecommend this resortgreat resortpool areanice poolpool and hot tubstudio roomtop floormain towntwo nightsmin walkplunger coffeebed was very comfortablethe kitchenwould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the reef resort. FriendlyWe staff enjoy a chat with good advice for activities, nice pool with a close entrance to the lake. It’s a car ride into town but an awesome boathouse pub nearby with live music, along with some others. Room was big with a nice balcony and very clean. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MEddy012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi MEddy012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us here at the Reef Resort. We love to know how our guests enjoyed their time with us and we are so pleased that you have! I will pass on your lovely comments regarding cleanliness to our gorgeous housekeeping staff as they do work hard and take great pride in what they do. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning again in the future so that we can host you again.

Take care
Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

We’ve stayed at the resort studio apartment two nights only on our way to Wellington. The views are spectacular. There is a path down the property for a nice trail along the Taupo lake. The bed is great and big. The room itself is spacious. The only weak point was the breakfast, which was very basic and unfortunately we discovered there was a nice breakfast/lunch cafe next-doors just after we checked out)

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Krystyna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Krystyna G

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us here at the Reef Resort in Taupo. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were lovely and comfortable. We hope that you have a great trip down to Wellington and we do look forward to being able to host you again in the future. We are really sorry that you found our breakfast very basic, so we will try to improve on this in the future. We do welcome the feedback.

Once again Krystyna G, thank you so much for your review as we love to know that our guests were comfortable.

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Due to a last minute change of plans we stayed a night in Taupo en route from Napier to Auckland. After a quick bit of research on Trip Advisor we made a short list to check out once we got to Taupo. The room at the Reef Resort had real wow factor - large, clean and nicely furnished with a view looking out to the lake.

Phillipa was absolutely lovely and very helpful, offering advice on what to do in the local area.

The bed was comfy. One thing to mention is that the shower in the studio suite is over a spa bath so maybe not so good for some people with accessibility issues.

This will definitely be our go-to place for future stays in Taupo.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jakenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Jakenz

Wow, thank you for such a lovely review and for taking the time to write it for us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and Philliippa is a real gem!

We are really looking forward to being able to host you again in the future and once again thank you so much for your lovely review!

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful room and bathroom! Wi-Fi and small kitchenette as well. Great shower pressure and location very close to Lake Taupo shops and restaurants! Parking can be tight getting in and out..

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hi SusanS

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Reef Resort in Taupo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the facilities. Yes, I do agree when we are fully booked that the parking can be tight.... we are working on that problem.

Once again, thank you so much for your lovely review and I hope we can host you again in the future

Warmest regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Perfect spot to look at sunset, sit in hot spa, or swim in pool. Room was very clean, big, and very comfortable! Bed was comfy! Not too close to town, but could walk on pathway down by Lake to get there. Sharon was so helpful and welcoming. Would stay again if ever back to this area.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Salmondeschutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Salmondeschutes

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the comfortable bed! Nothing is better than having a fabulous sleep when you are on holiday. We will look forward to you staying with us again in the future so that you can once again enjoy our facilities.

Warmest Regards
Sharon & Rob
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews