We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
151
52
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
52
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathlake tauposide windowcorner roomhot water beachuninterrupted viewswifi is freedirect access to the lakegreat accommodationtop floormotor lodgebeautiful spotwalking pathair conditionerself caterfriendly hostsappointed rooms
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Myself and my boyfriend stayed one night in a top floor balcony lake / mountain view room. We were absolutely delighted with our stay. Everything was immaculately clean and well presented. Special highlights that made our stay; was the large hot tub, little room boat furnishings, swans frolicking, lake and mountain views. It was magical to leave the balcony doors open and listen to the sound of the water hitting the shore line. Hot tub overlooks the lake which is a real treat. Be prepared this is a hard place to leave and one night is simply not enough to enjoy the beauty and simplicity of this divine place. Comfy bed and pillows, good power on shower head, great kitchen facilities. Prime location, close to Huka Falls, Restaurants, Cafes and shops. Free parking, friendly reception staff. All in all romantic stay with a tranquil atmosphere, feels like you are floating on water with the amazing views. Can't wait to return to this little gem of Taupo.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs balcony lake / mountain view room for optimum views
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ursh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linashao, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Good morning Ursh22,

Thanks for your time to write the great review for us. We are pleased that you enjoyed all our facilities that make the Clearwater a special place to stay. We try our best here and it is very nice to be appreciated. We wish you all best and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Manager
Li Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Great location with no roads between the lodge and the lake. Right close to a hot water spring so great swimming spot in front of the lodge too. Just be really careful with kids and the sand as any step could potentially scald your feet it is that hot. With no warning signs around! The room was nice and our balcony provided a side view out to the lake. Really nice to eat meals out here. Only gripe is I was quoted $12 for the hire of a cot and highchair. On check-in I said we didn’t need the cot but it was already in the room so they left it there. And then on checkout we were charged $24. I felt petty saying something but it’s obviously stuck with me!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Treegranted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Good morning Treegranted,

Thanks for you time to write the review for us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and location.
Also thanks for your comments. It helps us to improve the quality of our service.
First, we apologize for the unpleasant experience. Actually, we prepared the cot for you according to your order in our system.
Next time, we will double check with guest who has special requirements when we getting the reservation. I think these sorts of things will not happen again by using this way.
We always do our best here. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again. Take care.

Kind regards,
Manager
Li Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

As our usual motel was booked out so we chose Clearwater through the internet. It turned out to be a great find. Right on the lakefront at hot water beach with views and off street parking.

The room included a kitchenette which was very well equipped, you could easily self-cater. It had been redecorated throughout and was clean and very well presented. I'm not a big fan of the "in room" spa bath but with the bubble bath it was rather fun.

The lady who we dealt with at reception was minding the motel we were impressed by the level of service she provided.

Some good points, the lake path runs right outside for running, biking and walking into the town. Unlike many NZ motels Wifi is free with the room and there is a pool. One thing that struck us as particularly thoughtful, the metal walkways that lead to the rooms have been covered with a rubber mat so you are not disturbed by the noise of people walking back and forward.

This is an older refurbished property but it has been well done and is well run.

I am almost reluctant to give this place a review as it will only encourage others to use if

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hi Sue D,

Thanks for the great review and kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and all the facilities. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Regard,
Manager
Li Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

I book a family room ( 2 kids) . it was a great , very spacious and clean & tidy. it is just on the lake and walking distance to the busy center of the city. The parking is small but enough to accomodate all the guest cars. I really enjoy the place

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LaurentD1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linashao, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

HI LaurentD1971:
thanks for your time to write the review. we are gladded that you enjoyed staying with us.
we are looking forward to see you in the near future again.

Regards
lina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and they never let us down. The units are clean and modern. Staff friendly and accommodating. The view incredible and right on the lake front. What more could you want.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TonynLynnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Good morning Tonynlynnda,
Thanks for your time to write a review.We are glad that you enjoy our location and facilities. We are looking forward to see you again in Taupo. We wish you all the best.

Regards.
Li Li
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews