We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
155
54
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
54
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath lake taupo hot water beach waters edge plunge pool lakeside location ground floor unit wifi is free great accommodation shower pressure walking path small balcony stunning views appointed rooms easy access overlooking lake great spot
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Great location with no roads between the lodge and the lake. Right close to a hot water spring so great swimming spot in front of the lodge too. Just be really careful with kids and the sand as any step could potentially scald your feet it is that hot. With no warning signs around! The room was nice and our balcony provided a side view out to the lake. Really nice to eat meals out here. Only gripe is I was quoted $12 for the hire of a cot and highchair. On check-in I said we didn’t need the cot but it was already in the room so they left it there. And then on checkout we were charged $24. I felt petty saying something but it’s obviously stuck with me!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Treegranted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Good morning Treegranted,

Thanks for you time to write the review for us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and location.
Also thanks for your comments. It helps us to improve the quality of our service.
First, we apologize for the unpleasant experience. Actually, we prepared the cot for you according to your order in our system.
Next time, we will double check with guest who has special requirements when we getting the reservation. I think these sorts of things will not happen again by using this way.
We always do our best here. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again. Take care.

Kind regards,
Manager
Li Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

As our usual motel was booked out so we chose Clearwater through the internet. It turned out to be a great find. Right on the lakefront at hot water beach with views and off street parking.

The room included a kitchenette which was very well equipped, you could easily self-cater. It had been redecorated throughout and was clean and very well presented. I'm not a big fan of the "in room" spa bath but with the bubble bath it was rather fun.

The lady who we dealt with at reception was minding the motel we were impressed by the level of service she provided.

Some good points, the lake path runs right outside for running, biking and walking into the town. Unlike many NZ motels Wifi is free with the room and there is a pool. One thing that struck us as particularly thoughtful, the metal walkways that lead to the rooms have been covered with a rubber mat so you are not disturbed by the noise of people walking back and forward.

This is an older refurbished property but it has been well done and is well run.

I am almost reluctant to give this place a review as it will only encourage others to use if

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hi Sue D,

Thanks for the great review and kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and all the facilities. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Regard,
Manager
Li Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

I book a family room ( 2 kids) . it was a great , very spacious and clean & tidy. it is just on the lake and walking distance to the busy center of the city. The parking is small but enough to accomodate all the guest cars. I really enjoy the place

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LaurentD1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linashao, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

HI LaurentD1971:
thanks for your time to write the review. we are gladded that you enjoyed staying with us.
we are looking forward to see you in the near future again.

Regards
lina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and they never let us down. The units are clean and modern. Staff friendly and accommodating. The view incredible and right on the lake front. What more could you want.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TonynLynnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Good morning Tonynlynnda,
Thanks for your time to write a review.We are glad that you enjoy our location and facilities. We are looking forward to see you again in Taupo. We wish you all the best.

Regards.
Li Li
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We were in the family room upstairs and it had great views of the lake.
The room was spacious, tidy and clean.
The motorlodge is located just by the lake and there is easy access to the waterfront from the motel. Very nice for early morning or evening walks on the path along the waterfront.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tt119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hi tt119,

Thanks for the great review and feed back. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room with the awesome views. Looking forwards to see you again in the near future. Wish you have a great day today.

Warm Regards.
Li Li
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews