We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorably beautiful, with plenty of choices available”
Review of Huka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Huka Lodge
Ranked #3 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Memorably beautiful, with plenty of choices available”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Many people have commented on the beautiful gardens and the luxury of this place. I agree with all of those comments, but I suggest that something that first-time guests need to know in advance is that there is a lot more choice available here than some of the previous reviewers on tripadvisor seem to have realised, so you need to read the website properly and/or ask the right questions:
- There is a wide variety of options with the suites/cottages, with different price tags. We were travelling as a family, so it was great to have some extra space.
- We loved the choices available with private dining options. Obviously, if the place is busy, you need to book your preferred private dining option in advance. Breakfast down at the 'jetty', right next to the river, was a very special memory. For a quiet family dinner, we enjoyed 'the study', with its own balcony and a lovely view over the gardens and river.
- The hotel checks in advance whether guests have any allergies or special food preferences and they do a great job of accommodating those issues. In addition, you can change any item from the normal set menu. Again, you just have to ask and of course, it is courteous to do that a little in advance, although not strictly necessary. We didn't do that a lot, because we were happy with most of what was on the normal set menu.
- You can choose whether you want to 'chill out' without technology in your room, which a lot of guests seem to like as their way of relaxing. We prefer to have tv, telephone etc, so we just asked in advance and everything was there. Free wifi was excellent.
- Looking at some previous comments on tripadvisor, people from different backgrounds have some vastly different expectations about service. Normally, active Australians and New Zealanders who are reasonably accustomed to this type of luxury accommodation would not be impressed by obsequiousness or an intrusive level of attention, and they would know to speak up with any questions, rather than wasting holiday time seething with resentment about something they have not asked about or checked on the website. We liked the friendly but unintrusive and quiet approach of the management and staff at Huka Lodge. They are always there to help if you have a question or if you want to organise an activity (in our case, fishing), but otherwise, they are not centre stage.

The photos on the website do not do justice to the splendour of the gardens and the ever-changing views of the river. Also, the location is perfect for a wide range of activities in the region. Even people who live here would never run out of things to do, so if you only have a few days, you'll be spoiled for choice. There are facilities available such as a spa, which we did not have time to try because there was so much else to do.

Room Tip: All of the options are luxurious, but there is a wide variety of choice, so ask about what will best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Familytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    25
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
175
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wife and I were in New Zealand for business and the oppurtunity came up to spend a few nights at Huka Lodge. We had been recommended by others that had stayed there to not miss the chance to stay. Well what can we say. When we booked, we wanted to stay somewhere special and this is exactly what we got. The surroundings, the management and staff, the food, everyrhing was absolutely superb. We honestly did not want to check out on our day of departure. If you want to have one of the best experiences, stay at Huka Lodge. We could not have been happier.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ndAveManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colton, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We went here on our honeymoon and were so pleased. From the moment you arrive, your blood pressure drops. The setting is lush, luxurious, comfortable and beautiful. Louis and his team went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable. They are happy to arrange any outings you would like in the area or give you a local's insight into the area's attractions. When we caught trout on our amazing fishing excursion, the chef prepared them for our dinner that evening in the most delicious way (at no additional cost!)! On that note, you will not be hungry or bored by the food here. It was inventive and very filling. They make it very clear that if you have any dietary preferences or needs they are happy to make your meals to follow them. The other unique thing about the dinners is that each group is seated in its own little area around the main lodge. There are throws and heaters at the outdoor spots in case the evening chill is a bit much. It is the most romantic setting!
The room was very big and peaceful. You look right out onto the river, which is so clear and pretty. They provide fishing rods for general guest use. The pool and hot tub are always open. The other great thing is that while this lodge gives the appearance of being in the middle of the wilderness, it's literally three minutes from the center of town. I can't stress how highly I recommend the Huka Lodge!

Room Tip: Amazing. You will love whatever little spot you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We unfortunately had too little time at this beautiful place and will be returning for a decent length of time on our next New Zealand visit.

The surroundings - the river, gardens and nearby Falls, are truly beautiful and and the Lodge itself a relaxing and luxurious haven. From the time we arrived and were made to feel most welcome by the helpful and friendly staff, to our lingering departure (we didn't want to leave), we thoroughly enjoyed Huka Lodge. The accommodation was excellent, with beautifully-appointed rooms. The time spent mingling with other guests before dinner was most enjoyable (very interesting fellow-guests), and our very private, dinner, served on the terrace overlooking the river and grounds, was of a very high standard. Staff were charming and knowledgeable. We did not have time to participate in the offered activities, such as trout-fishing, scenic flights, etc., but there is plenty to do. We did manage to have a thoroughly relaxing break.

We expected much from Huka Lodge, given its reputation, and we were not disappointed. Well-done Huka Lodge!

Room Tip: Think about sharing the owner's cottage with a group of friends - with your own butler, plenty o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This was our fifth or sixth visit to Huka Lodge - a destination we choose when we have something REALLY special to celebrate, a birthday with a zero, or a personal achievement of some sort. It is the most wonderful hotel and we have NEVER been disappointed. The staff are so professional, friendly, capable, informed, easy on the eye ... just fantastic!
The setting is exceptional, on the banks of the wonderful fast-flowing river, where swans struggle to stay afloat, and ducks stagger ashore to visit the edge of your terrace. The foot is well-thought out and stunningly presented, amazing breakfasts and stunning dinners, with far too many canapes beforehand!!!

We had to leave before lunch on our last day, and the kitchen made us the most wonderful picnic to take with us - more than we needed and delicious.

My husband had a relaxing massge from Jo, and he has become an addict - needs one every day, apparently.

Taupo is a worthwhile desitination, and Huka Lodge is more than you could hope for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
4.9 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.8 km away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
4.9 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
9.4 km away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huka Lodge

Property: Huka Lodge
Address: Huka Falls Road | PO Box 95, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price range (per night): ₹ 77,950 - ₹ 1,11,968
Hotel Class:5 star — Huka Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Huka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huka Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing