We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Champagne fishing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chris Jolly Outdoors

Chris Jolly Outdoors
Book In Advance
US$ 33.63*
and up
Maori Rock Carving Cruise from Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This family run business has been operating scenic cruises, private boat charters, Trout fishing tours, guided hiking and hunting excursions on and around Lake Taupo for over 30 years. Offering 4 launches to choose from with outstanding facilities for entertaining, scenic tours and of course Trout fishing. Chris Jolly and his team will ensure you have the tip of a lifetime. Also our new Boat shuttles on the Great Lake Trail - NZ Cycle Trail (Nga Haeranga)we can boat shuttle you from bay to bay.
Waitakere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Champagne fishing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I don't doubt Chris Jolly et al can and do provide first class 'blood and guts hunting and fishn', but If you just fancy a nice trip on the water in a comfy smart boat you must do this!
Phoebe in the booking office at the lakeside is an amazing personality. She sorted us out with Exactly the right trip - I said I wanted to catch some trout on the lake, and my husband had done a 100K bike race that morning so wasn't up to much.
We went out with Richard on his beautiful comfortable boat and caught 6 trout in two hours - four were superb and two went back because they were a bit small.
Phoebe and Richard both gave great local advice about shopping (I needed new togs) and where to get the trout smoked and sent home, and restaurants which would cook it for us that night.
There were midges on the lake that day so we didn't mind Richard smoking cigarettes, but otherwise would have had to ask him not to. I felt he should have asked before lighting up - it upset me enough to give them a 'Very Good' rather than 'Excellent' rating.
This crowd would be great to party with if you have the energy, but they respected our need for a peaceful time and gave us just that. Lovely.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaMaybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisjolly, Owner at Chris Jolly Outdoors, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
We are please to hear that you enjoyed your trip. The skipper in mention was new at the time and we were unaware that he had been smoking on board until it was brought to our attention so thank you for that. He has been informed that smoking on board is not allowed - this is a company policy. We look forward to entertaining you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    29
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and accomodating staff, awesome scenery - worth every cent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

What a fantastic way to see lake Taupo in comfort and style!! The boat was clean, comfortable. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate for the kids, and morning tea included. Colouring in for the kids and even a turn " driving" the boat, complete with certificate from the captain! Our whole family loved this boat cruise! The lady working on board was so helpful and friendly, offering to take photos of us and making sure we were comfortable etc.

The duration of the trip was perfect, an hour and a half, not too long, just enough time to see and enjoy everything. Seeing the bays, and the Maori carvings, as well as hearing about the history of Lake Taupo from the captain was really interesting! Don't miss it - it is so worth seeing!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank gpljk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cruise to Rock Carvings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Took the morning cruise (1 1/2hrs) which visited the rock carvings. Enjoyed complimentary coffees and wonderful, warm, freshly-baked muffins. Crew were informative, cheerful and helpful. A lovely way to spend a morning or afternoon.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank B0nniesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Only a few carvings, all carved in 1970's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The boat trip was nice and relaxing but if your main interest are the carvings, don't bother. These are not old carvings of any significance, but were done by a group in 1970's - In my opinion purely as tourist bait.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ancsi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another superb evening with wonderful hosts and company.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

For the 3rd year in a row we have ventured out with all our staff on Chris Jolly Boats for a relaxing evening with Simon and his crew on Supercat. Although we asked the staff if they wanted to do something different, they said no as they just can't go past the fun and relaxation of being on the lake. As always and despite not catching any trout, the food was beautiful and the staff so friendly and professional. it really is the perfect way to spend an evening and a great way to thank all our staff for the hard work they have put in during the year.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chergray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisjolly, Owner at Chris Jolly Outdoors, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Thank you for the great review -there's nothing better than repeat business. Our staff had a great time on the trip. Hopefully we will see you all again soon and next time we can catch come fish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chris Jolly Outdoors also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Chris Jolly Outdoors? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing