We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”
Review of Huka Prawn Park

Huka Prawn Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 20.93*
and up
Interactive Prawn Park with Prawn Fishing in Taupo
Ranked #14 of 71 things to do in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo and offering hours of entertainment for people of all ages. Experience the thrill of landing the fiesty prawn at Hook-a-Prawn Fishing, enjoy the delight of hand feeding, baby prawns in the Prawn Nursery, and get up close and personal with Shawn the Prawn, in the Aquarium. Then head out to more than 6 hectares of fun and entertainment throughout the park, including interactive water features, adventure playgrounds, trout viewing and feeding, and geothermal foot baths. The day wouldn't be complete with relaxing beside the mighty Waikato River at the Riverside restaurant and bar and enjoying a mouthwatering selection of meals and beverages on offer. Huka Prawn Park, a day of fun and adventure for all!
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Visited with friends. Felt this was overpriced. Would not bother taking overseas guests here again. However there were a lot of people fishing and many of them families.

Thank Kowkott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thanks for your feedback :-)

Warm regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"prawn fishing"
in 164 reviews
"prawns"
in 714 reviews
"prawn farm"
in 69 reviews
"garlic butter"
in 21 reviews
"foot bath"
in 18 reviews
"paddle boats"
in 17 reviews
"chowder"
in 15 reviews
"fun fishing"
in 13 reviews
"guided tour"
in 28 reviews
"hot chips"
in 12 reviews
"great family day"
in 14 reviews
"hand feeding"
in 15 reviews
"trout"
in 48 reviews
"nature walk"
in 11 reviews
"few hours"
in 30 reviews
"great fun"
in 49 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 25 reviews
Filter

77 - 81 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018

Having been here before, we were not going to bother with the guided tour, but glad we did. They have now added a fishing demo which really helped and caught 9 prawns as to our usual 1! The setting is great and lovely other things to do other that the fishing. Greatly improved, since our previous visit.

Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

That's so great to hear that you returned and found the place has improved. We are working really hard to make improvements every year for our guests.

Hope to have you come back again!

Warm regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Went with a family of four with 2 young children. We stayed there for a few hours and there were enough activities to keep us busy. Of course we spent most of the time holding a rod trying to catch prawns but we only managed to catch one :( The paddle boats were fun. The staff around the park was very helpful and friendly. We will return if we pass this area again.

Thank giggler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you so much for your review.

Sorry to hear you only caught one this time, we've had some great numbers caught during the summer holidays.

Look forward to having you back again.

Warm regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We stumbled across the prawn park by accident and ended up having the best day out ever! We spent 3.5 hours sitting there catching prawns. Sometimes it was frustrating wanting them to just take a bite and stay on but it was so exciting when you actually caught one. this is a great idea and we loved how everything was included at a super affordable price. This so far has been the highlight of our holiday, just some good plain old fun !!!

Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Wow Kirsty what a great review, thank you so much.

It's definitely a unique experience for the family and we are so glad that you got the feel of what we are trying to achieve.

Please come back again!

Warm regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

mega awesome we didn't catch prawns but our boy loves the day and he was stoked with the tracks and loves the walk and boats well recommend

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thanks David,

My son also loves it out here, it's a great way to get them out and teach them some patience along with the educational aspect and all the fun activities.

Hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huka Prawn Park also viewed

 

Been to Huka Prawn Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;