We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Taupo
from US$ 88.75
More Info
from US$ 68.11
More Info
from US$ 26.83
More Info
from US$ 75.68
More Info
Reviews (1,148)
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveller rating
461
383
191
71
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
383
191
71
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prawn fishing prawns prawn farm garlic butter paddle boats chowder foot bath fun fishing great family day guided tour hand feeding hot chips trout nature walk great fun few hours couple of hours
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

You need time for this attraction and to get the most out of it a good guide. Ours was Sian who brought to life what might otherwise be quite a dull topic.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Hi Jon,

Thanks so much for the feedback, I will be sure to pass this onto Sian and her Manager. Sian is a very hard worker and tries really hard so it's great to see her name on trip advisor.

Glad you enjoyed the tour!

Warm regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Visited on a hot sunny day, and quickly realised that the only attraction to this place is fishing for prawns in some muddy-looking ponds. There are other things advertised like trout feeding, paddle-boarding, etc, but these are much poorer versions of what you can do elsewhere in Taupo.

There’s a ‘guided tour’ which walks through the hatchery where you can see and feed the prawns. At the start of the tour, you are invited to experience the difference between normal lake water temperature and the 28 degrees heated pond temperature that the prawns live in by running your hands under two taps. It is very nearly as interesting as I have described it here.

The restaurant offers fresh (obviously!) prawns, but a kilo to share between two adults cost $98 which is too much. That price wouldn’t be out of place at a gourmet restaurant, but this is much more of a ‘campground’ feel.

If you have children who can sit patiently enough to catch a prawn or two, it could be a fun day out, but I would advise saving your money and enjoying the lake and plenty of other family-friendly activities in Taupo instead.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank 48,35,75,822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Burn!! You really told us what you thought.

I guess we're not for everyone, we appreciate all feedback and use it for trainging and development of our park.

Have a great 2018!

Warm regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Yes it's not the cheapest attraction around and we didn't catch any prawns but we still enjoyed ourselves, I guess it helped it was a sunny day as well. Enjoyed fishing for prawns/feeding the prawns, we also enjoyed walking around doing the activities aimed at kids and kids at heart. We also enjoyed the tour and would recommend doing it before going into the park.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Donatello B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thanks so much for your review.

Always great on a sunny day to be outside having some family fun.

Hope to see you again!

Warm regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our extended family visit, but with hind-sight, wished we were advised on booking in to do the tour 1st, before starting "fishing". Despite this though, we each managed to catch at least 1 prawn each - very exciting! The tour was very informative and explained why you can't pull the line up as soon as you feel the 1st tug! The walk around the park was great fun not only for the children, and extra activities like the paddle-boats were very much enjoyed too.
The Coffee/hot chips staff were very friendly, and made great coffee!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank JudiC191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Hi Judi,

Thanks for letting us know about the tour, frontline staff are trained to recommend tour first. Might need some refresher training. Will be sure to pass onto our cafe staff that they're doing a great job.

Glad you enjoyed yourself it's very important that you do!

Warm regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

The kids thoroughly enjoyed their time catching prawns....its is slow going but rewarding when they light up when they catch one. Looking around was fun bit not worth the admission price.
Ate at the restaurant...food was delicious but again on the pricey side.
See pic for our killer haul of 5 prawns after 3 hours trying with 4 rods!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank DTornado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback.

Hope you went on our guided tour for a full fishing lesson, it helps.

We hope you come again.

Warm regards,

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews