We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“could NOT recommend it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falls Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falls Chateau
Ranked #30 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“could NOT recommend it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

agree with many of the other reviewers complaints - in particular
no reception / signage / service
"kitchenette" a joke - not even a sink - I've had better eating facilities in a tent
walls paper thin - can hear every sound from neighbours - clearly not designed as separate facilities
eftpos doubled up - took months to resolve
never again

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsChateau, Manager at Falls Chateau, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
We think this review has reviewed the wrong property. Our property and room descriptions are very accurate, as they should be. The kitchenette does have a sink and a microwave, fridge. However, our cheapest room, which is accurately described does not have a kitchenette at all because it is not an apartment. Most people want a comfortable room for the night and eat out, this is the room most people book. We have rooms with cooking facilities, but many potential guests don;t want to pay extra for these. Taupo is a "short duration" destination with most people not staying more than two nights, 85% of guests only use their rooms for sleeping and are out all day, which you would expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    20
    11
    14
    30
See reviews for
12
63
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We booked a room for $100, any where else a room like the one we had would be at least $50 more per night. No wonder in this economy, that this place is full nearly all the time. If you want a really comfortable large room with all the mod-cons then this place is the best value for money we stayed in in all of NZ.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim10111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

1. We arrive right on time to find this Hotel/Chateau is effectively a house on a street.

2. Our welcome is some weird looking guy in crappy clothes and raggy old hat.

3. Due to 'over booking' we were “up graded” to the three bedroom part of the “house” because it is just a house not a Hotel or Chateau.

4. Once I had paid what I needed to pay (on our arrival not departure?) at an EFT Pos machine in a cupboard of the lounge in the room where we were staying, the guy dressed like a gardener showed us the heating system and told us the bedroom we must stay in. Not really an upgrade is it if we cant use the facilities, he then picked up the dirty old towel he was walking on to protect the floor and left (classy).

5. Because the building was freezing when we arrived we turned the heating on, got changed and went out for dinner in the town.

6. We arrived back a couple of hours later to find the ‘gardener’ had been back into our room/part of the house and turned the heating off. What he is doing back in our room after we had checked in was of some concern and in my opinion very inappropriate. If it was to check in another person I did not realise 5 star accommodation included your room also being the reception area. And what the HELL is he doing turning the heating off? It is Taupo, in the middle of winter!!!!!!

7. We then got settled on the couch to watch a little television before going to bed only to realise the door which joins the two separate areas is about as soundproof as rice paper. While watching television we could hear every cough and sniff from the other people and in turn I am sure they could hear us. We have stayed in plenty of hotels with adjoining rooms and they have always been very soundproof and/or even double doors.

8. Watching television was also a disappointing experience, yes there was Sky TV but no sky sport. Yet another aspect of 5 star accommodation which I thought would go without saying.

9. Disappointed about the television going to bed did not get any better. We found the bed to be comfortable but was so noisy and creaky we could not move in it without waking each other up. I know that sounds far fetched but honestly, it was like being on an old pirate ship on a very rocky night. Moving rooms would have been an option but we were told the other rooms were not made up. (upgrade?)

10. Getting up in the morning did not get any better. When we were getting ready and having our showers we found only 1 towel in the entire place. I would have expected perhaps at least one each. The shampoos were in small oviously recycled bottles which had been used I could only guess dozens and dozens of times. They were so bad they even had the sticky glue left behind when you scrape a label off with your finger nail, gross!!



This '5 Star' experience was very disappointing. My wife and I always stay in good accommodation and were deciding between it and the Hilton in Taupo and chose this because the rating they have are the same. I can assure you this is unlike any Hilton or other quality accommodation we have ever stayed in.
In our opinion the star rating on various accommodations should be based on the over all package not simply the way a place looks. We would assume no one who has given this place its 5 stars has actually stayed here to assess the actual quality of accommodation in its entirety? This particular place is set out beautifully and looks very nice but over all this does not deserve to be more than 3 stars.
The use of the word Chateau I believe is also a bit rich. Other than the items mentioned above there are other things about this accommodation that just take it down a notch. As mentioned above the place looks very nice (5 star) at first glance but things like a big ugly industrial padlock and latch on one of the doors by the kitchen are just a but tacky. I can understand things needing locks but with a little bit of care and attention a nicer looking lock would make all the difference.
To double up on our dissapointment, when mentioning it to the booking servise we used (ratestogo.com) we got the generic appology with no sincerity which really topped off a bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKeane74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsChateau, Manager at Falls Chateau, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Reviews can be very useful to the proprietor and to the traveling public, but only if they are correct and accurate. This very long review has so many inaccuracies that we will not respond to every point he makes. However, if the guest had read the property description and understood the meaning of the word "Chateau" he would have not been surprised. Our property description on every website is entirely accurate. Nevertheless, this property is purpose built and every guest has a private entrance and facilities, there are no communal facilities of any sort.

Additionally, this guest only paid $100 for a nights accommodation, on special promotion and his room is excellent value for the money in this town. The room he stayed in has a minimal nights tariff from an independent rating agency of $250 per night.

Furthermore, we are now in our fourth year of operation in the worst economic climate in a generation and our occupancy has increased every year despite this. We now operate consistently above 90% full, something only possible with superior property. No other accommodation provider in this town has this level of consistent occupancy. Interestingly, our occupancy since this reviewer posted his review has been the highest it has ever been. This property also won the Gold Award in 2011 for service and value nationwide.

Finally, we have only 7 negative reviews on this site out of thousands of people who have stayed here. So on balance this property is regarded by most of its guests as quite excellent, you will notice the positive reviews are a very good or excellent. We have actually had people book with us despite the bad reviews, because "we simply don't believe them" they say, so there is a strange irony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at Falls Chateau that was pleasant and we left happily. 2 weeks later my credit card was charged $50NZ. After emailing Alan(owner/operator) for an explanation he informed me it was for cleaning. His report went on to state that the microwave plate was ruined and had to be replaced, there were food stains on the bed sheets,food on kitchenette walls and an odour throughout the apartment which had to be santized. We thought there had to be some kind of mistake which I queried. We never heard back from Alan after sending several emails explaining that there must be an error. 1. We never used the microwave. 2. Food never enterd the bedroom once - we didnt even eat there! 3. The apartment was used effectively to sleep in and shower. 4. Food splattered on the kitchenette walls???? How insulting!! After giving Alan the benefit of the doubt and an opportunity to refund this completely bogus charge he withdrew all contact with us. We went to the bank and after a couple of weeks they informed us there was little they could do. My partner and I have travelled together extensively and handed our credit card to countless hotels and always felt comfortable doing so. This has ruined that trust. It is now 3 months later and this whole saga is still infuriating! My advice - stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemmyjembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

I made my no refund reservations the month before so when we entered the failing subdivision we were dumfounded trying to find the " LODGE "- no reception area just a bunch of houses for sale. Finally drove to the address and noticed this homemade sign next to door [ see photo]. This was a house someone has partitioned off to rent out various sections to supplement his income while trying to sell it [see photo ]. The owner showed us to the studio apartment we had paid for- walking us up this steep , narrow stairwell up to a converted bonus room above the garage. A pretend kitchen and miniature bedroom were ours for the $175nzd /n we had already paid-sorry no refunds- so we eventually negotiated the 2 bedroom section of the house with a lovely full kitchen and 3 different living rooms for about $215/n. I felt baited and switched but this appeased me somewhat. The studio was not worth more than $100/n based on my 4 weeks of peak season travel in NZ so beware.
There were numerous doors or painted plywood that attached to other apartments [ sections of house ] that allowed access--both nights it felt like someone was creeping about while we slept. The owner is very green [ read obsessed about energy usage ] and has the apartment rigged to prevent lights from working. He stays downstairs in the lower side apartment but wants nothing to do with his "guests" after he has given them the key. The " HOUSE RULES " that another reviewer has cited are an insult and beyond belief in penalties/fines. I only wish I had taken a photo to share.
The place is a very difficult walk to town[ 4-5 mile round trip ] that is totally uphill coming back so you must drive everywhere. The place was totally filled with live/dead insects, cobwebs abounded, the view was nice but the windows have not been cleaned for years so blurry.You get 2 towels so make them last.The bed linens were high quality, huge plasma tv with 200 channels good.
This was the most bizarre place I have ever stayed and totally unexpected-- we made the best of it and I rec that for $215 nzd + you look elsewhwere unless it is a huge family needing 3+ bedrooms on the outskirts of Taupo.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsChateau, Manager at Falls Chateau, responded to this review, 24 April 2010
The reviewer is quite inaccurate about several points, so much so that we wonder if he has mixed us up with another establishment. We are not a multi-family house. Falls Chateau is boutique rated accommodation. The description of the property on our website and booking engines is entirely accurate. The guest was staying here during school holidays in the late summer and there were families staying here during that time. He was upstairs in a small apartment with excellent views. His room had an interconnecting door to a much larger apartment. The premise is purpose built and of the highest quality with granite counters, floor to ceiling tiling and the superb quality fabrics. There is no plywood construction anywhere. As for the "creepy" description, he was upstairs and quite removed from contact with other guests, perhaps there were children down on the lawn playing a game. This comment is quite bizarre. The "Green" comment is also strange. Although we do not encourage guests to be wasteful, we certainly can not prevent it. Air conditioning does have an economy setting to reduce power at night, when it is not required. Their was no report of any problem from the guest regarding power and wonder if he has mistaken our property with another. The property is designed for minimum interference from staff, so guests can relax and not be disturbed. However, we are always on hand to help, rooms are serviced daily. Experience and a 90% plus occupancy level have proven that this is what guests prefer. Finally, our rooms are very clean and have many reviews on other sites about our superb cleanliness and presentation. The rooms here are very well priced and this guest received a 30% discount off the rack rate prior to booking. He also received an upgrade. This review is quite unjustified, we would not have a 90% occupancy rate if we were as he described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
4.1 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
3.2 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.1 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#17 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 km away
Huka Falls Resort
Huka Falls Resort
#50 of 71 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.3 km away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Chateau? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Chateau

Property: Falls Chateau
Address: 12 Chateau Crescent, Taupo 3370, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,192 - ₹ 6,345
Hotel Class:4 star — Falls Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falls Chateau is our showcase boutique accommodation property! Choose from the private suite, private apartment, or Queen rooms. Superbly designed interior is richly decorated in a modern style, with beautiful artwork, yet warm and inviting. Views from the upstairs Apartment and Queen rooms are superb and include snow-capped mountains and the beautiful surroundings of the high-end Huka Falls Resort. Just minutes to downtown Lake Taupo, geothermal attractions and the stunning Huka Falls. Huka Falls Resort offers and excellent restaurant, winery and private vineyard just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Falls Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Chateau Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing