We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
800
81
2
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
800
81
2
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade cookies hot tub across the road hosts peter lake taupo night light coffee cart private spa pool little touches great hosts up to date great spot friendly owners comfy bed only stayed one night sky tv a great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 887 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Fantastic views, very friendly service and lovely spacious and very clean rooms. Staff couldn’t do enough and there is a complimentary laundry. Many restaurants nearby. Would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 87ollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi 87ollie,
Thanks for the great review and kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed all our little extras that make the Gables a special place to stay. We try our best here and it is very nice to be appreciated. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again. Take care. Kind regards, Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Great accommodations, comfortable beds, convenient location across from the lake and a short walk to town, and wonderful hospitality from Peter and Penny. Make sure to try the coffee and gelato sold by vendors parked across the street. We’ll definitely return!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Backcountrymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi Backcountrymatt,
Thanks for the great review. It was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed your room with the awesome views of the lake and the mountains and all the little extras like homemade cookies and fresh fruit. We wish you all the best for the rest of your travels and hope to see you again soon. Take care. Kind regards, Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

This place had everything you could need and was spotlessly clean it was such a shame we only booked one night. Comfy bed, great shower, soft towels, shower gel, moisturiser etc, hairdryer, hot tub and towels, great kitchen which even had a dishwasher, complimentary homemade cookies and apples, plenty of tea, coffee and milk (not the usual just enough for 4 drinks we have been experiencing) iron and board, use of the washing machine and dryer is free and there is an ice machine too. Location is great and just a short walk into town.
Peter gave us some great info on things to do. The best night we had spent in New Zealand.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi Rogel,
Thanks for the great indepth review and kind words. We really do try our best to make your stay the best ever. It was lovely to meet you all and we are pleased that you enjoyed your room and all our facilities including the homemade cookies and fresh, crisp apples each day. We wish you all the best for the rest of your travels and hope to see you again soon. Take care. Kind regards, Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

peter is a very friendly positive guy who takes time to talk to his customers, you are treated like family, not just another customer.
the facilities are A1 the location perfect. i will recommend to my friends.
cheers, brett henderson

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whangareibininn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi whangareibininn,
Thanks for the great review and kind words. I really enjoyed your company and our many conversations. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again soon. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

We had a fabulous 3 nights here and highly recommend the accommodation. Great location and Peter and Penny are wonderful hosts, the studio apartment was spotless and well equipped. Perfect for a relaxing stay

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GilliG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Hi GilliG9,
Thanks for the great review and kind words. We really do try our best to make your stay the best ever. It was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed your room and all our facilities including the homemade cookies and fresh, crisp apples each day. We wish you all the best for the rest of your travels and hope to see you again soon. Take care. Kind regards, Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews