We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
215
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
8
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewsnew zealandlake taupoother guestsgreat hostshelpful with suggestionseach eveningoverlooking laketongariro crossingmemorable stayour honeymoonglass of winetwo nightsstayed longerlindaricknz
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We travelled 3 1/2 weeks around NZ and Acacia was by far the best place to stay. Gorgeous place and by amazing hosts Rick and Linda. Everything was perfect from the location to the food and services!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have amazing views of the gorgeous lake.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2Martinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

A great review to wake up to thank you 2Martinez! We enjoyed meeting you both and learning more about your country which we hope to visit one day. So pleased your stay with us "was perfect"...can't ask for better than that!

Hope to meet up with you both again
Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Everything about this place is first class ... the welcome, the location, the facilities, the food, the owners. Need I go on?

We received a welcome cuppa on arrival but also had the choice of a glass of wine (complementary bottle in the room). One of the owners, Lynda, checked our plans for the following day and then phoned the company running the shuttle bus that we had booked at the Tongariro Crossing to check it was still running.

From recommending nearby (and far-away) restaurants, to joining us for a glass of wine before dinner, nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you so much Lynda and Rick for a lovely stay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank walsined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

"WOW"! What a great review thank you walsined.

Rick and I love the opportunity to meet guests from around the world and to showcase all the unique experiences this region has to offer......so it's easy and never any trouble at all!
The Tongariro Alpine Crossing is a real drawcard and a World Class One Day hike so we are pleased the weather permitted you to experience the stunning scenery.

Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This is unquestionably 5* accommodation with a beautiful view of Lake Taupo and wonderful service from the hosts Linda and Rick. For the not insignificant cost, I think we'd expected separately housed and more spacious lodgings, but the rooms actually offer great privacy, being well insulated in what is a fantastically designed modern property. Rick's cuisine in the evening was truly excellent, and topped off our enjoyable stay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Thank you John C....5* accommodation service and views.......pleased we delivered!

The lodge was purpose built to accommodate guests and involved demolishing and redesigning the original deer farm homestead which was a pole house.

The poles defined the layout of the rooms and lodge so our architect had a difficult brief to capture the views and create first class accommodation.....but we did it!

Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Acacia Cliffs.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Rick and Linda made us welcome from the outset. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is of the very highest standard. Luxurious. Wonderful views of the lake and our room which had balconies on both sides very spacious with excellent bathroom. They have thought of everything. Very highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Hi Paul S

Thank you for your comments and pleased to know you feel confident in recommending Acacia Cliffs Lodge to future guests. It's not too difficult looking after our guests.....it's what we enjoy! A real pleasure and privilege to be able to welcome guests from all over the world...including yourselves!

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand holiday.

Kind Regards and safe travels
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Linda and Rick made us feel right at home from the very start! Their home is lovely and the views fantastic. Our rooms were immaculate and very well appointed. Rick is/was a chef and had canapes for us in the late afternoon while we enjoyed beer and wine on their patio. Two other guests arrived during this time and we enjoyed their company as well. Breakfast was delicious as Rick prepared whatever we wanted from the menu; from the menu! One thing to be aware of is that if you would like dinner prepared by Rick during your stay call a few days in advance. We waited too long to book and were disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharenmoseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Hi sharenmoseman

So pleased you felt "right at home"..just what we like to hear! Rick and I purpose built Acacia Cliffs as boutique accommodation for guests but also hoped that it would feel like home....with the added luxury of on site hosts to look after your every need.

We offer a three course meal by prior arrangement...Rick shops on the day and adjusts the menu to suit guest dietary needs and preferences.....letting us know the day before is fine so perhaps you will make it back this way and join us at the table!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.....and for your kind comments.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews