We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with a stunning view and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2017

My husband and I stayed in a lovely room with an incomparable view of Lake Taupo. Our room had a deck overlooking the lake. Comfortable chairs, heated bathroom floor and towel rack, spacious bathroom. Rick prepares gourmet meals but not on Wednesday which is his day off. We were able to do laundry near our room which was helpful for us.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary2775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Hi Mary2775
The guest laundry is always appreciated by our guests....amazing how enjoyable catching up on washing can be when living out of a suitcase!

We offer dining five evenings a week but Sundays and Wednesdays are ..as you noted..."chef's night off" and an opportunity to sample some of the many restaurants we are lucky to have in Taupo.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Acacia Cliffs...glad you both enjoyed it.

Warm Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2017

We travelled 3 1/2 weeks around NZ and Acacia was by far the best place to stay. Gorgeous place and by amazing hosts Rick and Linda. Everything was perfect from the location to the food and services!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have amazing views of the gorgeous lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2Martinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

A great review to wake up to thank you 2Martinez! We enjoyed meeting you both and learning more about your country which we hope to visit one day. So pleased your stay with us "was perfect"...can't ask for better than that!

Hope to meet up with you both again
Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Everything about this place is first class ... the welcome, the location, the facilities, the food, the owners. Need I go on?

We received a welcome cuppa on arrival but also had the choice of a glass of wine (complementary bottle in the room). One of the owners, Lynda, checked our plans for the following day and then phoned the company running the shuttle bus that we had booked at the Tongariro Crossing to check it was still running.

From recommending nearby (and far-away) restaurants, to joining us for a glass of wine before dinner, nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you so much Lynda and Rick for a lovely stay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank walsined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

"WOW"! What a great review thank you walsined.

Rick and I love the opportunity to meet guests from around the world and to showcase all the unique experiences this region has to offer......so it's easy and never any trouble at all!
The Tongariro Alpine Crossing is a real drawcard and a World Class One Day hike so we are pleased the weather permitted you to experience the stunning scenery.

Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This is unquestionably 5* accommodation with a beautiful view of Lake Taupo and wonderful service from the hosts Linda and Rick. For the not insignificant cost, I think we'd expected separately housed and more spacious lodgings, but the rooms actually offer great privacy, being well insulated in what is a fantastically designed modern property. Rick's cuisine in the evening was truly excellent, and topped off our enjoyable stay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Thank you John C....5* accommodation service and views.......pleased we delivered!

The lodge was purpose built to accommodate guests and involved demolishing and redesigning the original deer farm homestead which was a pole house.

The poles defined the layout of the rooms and lodge so our architect had a difficult brief to capture the views and create first class accommodation.....but we did it!

Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Acacia Cliffs.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Rick and Linda made us welcome from the outset. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is of the very highest standard. Luxurious. Wonderful views of the lake and our room which had balconies on both sides very spacious with excellent bathroom. They have thought of everything. Very highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Hi Paul S

Thank you for your comments and pleased to know you feel confident in recommending Acacia Cliffs Lodge to future guests. It's not too difficult looking after our guests.....it's what we enjoy! A real pleasure and privilege to be able to welcome guests from all over the world...including yourselves!

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand holiday.

Kind Regards and safe travels
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
7.2 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,155 reviews
6.1 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
5.7 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.0 km away
Tauhara Sunrise Lodge
0.9 km away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Address: 1/133 Mapara Road | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3385, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: ₹ 28,262 - ₹ 33,763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Acacia Cliffs Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique lodge accommodation. Opened April 2008. Stunning panoramic lake and mountain views and a simply spectacular Lake Taupo location! Unique, contemporary design, secluded, yet only minutes from town. This new lodge accommodates eight guests in four luxury suites designed to capture the views. Stylish accommodation, relaxed luxury, superb cuisine and kiwi hosts who offer genuine NZ hospitality and a real NZ experience. Fish, golf, relax.......you may never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acacia Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Cliffs Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing